Library Guides: HIST 025: Pirates of the Caribbean and Other Rogues of the Atlantic World: Finding Sources

Find Books

Required and Recommended Reading
Reference Materials (e.g. encyclopedias)

The Atlantic World by Thomas Benjamin From ca. 1400 to 1900 the Atlantic Ocean served as a major highway, allowing people and goods to move easily between Europe, Africa, and the Americas. These interactions and exchanges transformed European, African, and American societies and led to the creation of new peoples, cultures, economies, and ideas throughout the Atlantic arena. The Atlantic World provides a comprehensive and lucid history of one of the most important and impactful cross-cultural encounters in human history. Empires, economies, and trade in the Atlantic world thrived due to the European drive to expand as well as the creative ways in which the peoples living along the Atlantic's borders adapted to that drive. This comprehensive, cohesively written textbook offers a balanced view of the activity in the Atlantic world. The 40 maps, 60 illustrations, and multiple excerpts from primary documents bring the history to life. Each chapter offers a reading list for those interested in a more in-depth look at the period.
Call Number: On reserve at Fairchild-Martindale Library
Publication Date: 2009
Daniel Defoe - a General History of the Pyrates by Daniel Dafoe
Call Number: ebook and on reserve at Fairchild-Martindale Library
Pillaging the Empire by Kris E. Lane; Kris Lane; Robert M. Levine Between 1500 and 1750, European expansion and global interaction produced vast wealth. As goods traveled by ship along new global trade routes, piracy also flourished on the world's seas. Pillaging the Empire tells the fascinating story of maritime predation in this period, including the perspectives of both pirates and their victims. Brushing aside the romantic legends of piracy, Kris Lane pays careful attention to the varied circumstances and motives that led to the rise of this bloodthirsty pursuit of riches, and places the history of piracy in the context of early modern empire building. This second edition of Pillaging the Empire has been revised and expanded to incorporate the latest scholarship on piracy, maritime law, and early modern state formation. With a new chapter on piracy in East and Southeast Asia, Lane considers piracy as a global phenomenon. Filled with colorful details and stories of individual pirates from Francis Drake to the women pirates Ann Bonny and Mary Read, this engaging narrative will be of interest to all those studying the history of Latin America, the Atlantic world, and the global empires of the early modern era.
Call Number: ebook and in print (364.164 L265p)
Publication Date: 2015
Piracy in the Early Modern Era by Kris Lane and Arne Bialuschewski
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781624668265
Publication Date: 2019
Villains of All Nations by Marcus Rediker Villains of All Nations explores the "Golden Age" of Atlantic piracy (1716-1726) and the infamous generation whose images underlie our modern, romanticized view of pirates. Rediker introduces us to the dreaded black flag, the Jolly Roger; swashbuckling figures such as Edward Teach, better known as Blackbeard; and the unnamed, unlimbed pirate who was likely Robert Louis Stevenson's model for Long John Silver in Treasure Island.This history shows from the bottom up how sailors emerged from deadly working conditions on merchant and naval ships, turned pirate, and created a starkly different reality aboard their own ships, electing their officers, dividing their booty equitably, and maintaining a multinational social order. The real lives of this motley crew-which included cross-dressing women, people of color, and the "outcasts of all nations"-are far more compelling than contemporary myth.
Call Number: 910.45 R317v
Publication Date: 2004

Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Short biographies of influential people, both living and dead. Each entry links to articles about the subject in newspapers, magazines, and periodicals.
Biography in Context combines over 330,000 biographies on nearly 220,000 people from more than 625 volumes of nearly 80 sources such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television, Contemporary Musicians, Historic World Leaders, Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists, Contemporary Black Biography, Religious Leaders of America, International Dictionary of Art and Artists, and Writers Directory, with full-text articles from more than 250 magazines including American History and U.S. News & World Report.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, in association with the British Academy is the first point of reference for anyone interested in the lives of the peoples of the British Isles and their connections overseas, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. It is the product of research instituted at the University of Oxford and funded by the British Academy and by Oxford University Press. It is the achievement of 10,000 contributors and advisers staff in Oxford. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included.

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Historical research about the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Full text access for all key English-language historical journals, also includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Also includes book and media reviews and abstracts of dissertations.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers publications including periodicals, book reviews, dissertations about the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding North America). Some full text available.
Covers materials published from 1971 to present.

Characteristics:

Cover numerous topics
May contain multiple types of sources (e.g. popular, trade, scholarly)
Audience = educated readership

Examples:

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals, beginning with the very first issue of each title. Primarily humanities and social sciences titles.
There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the content available through JSTOR. A broad range of disciplines are represented.
Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Offers over 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers.
Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Find Primary Sources

Numerous primary source collections are available through AM Explorer (linked below). You can search multiple collections simultaneously or individually. You may want to begin with the Colonial Caribbean Collection.

Primary Source Collections provided by A.M. Explorer This link opens in a new window
Enables cross searching of 88 primary source collections covering a wide range of humanities and social science subjects.
Major themes include Area Studies, Cultural Studies, Empire and Globalism, Ethnic Studies, Gender and Sexuality, History, Politics, Literature, Theatre, and War and Conflict

HIST 025: Pirates of the Caribbean and Other Rogues of the Atlantic World

Google Scholar

Interlibrary Loan

What is a primary source?

Find Books

Find Articles

Find Primary Sources

Library and Technology Services

Connect with Us

Make a Gift