Additional Data Guides
- Datasets for the Social SciencesLehigh Library Guide on datasets for various disciplines and topics.
- List of Public Dataset PortalsThis guide created by the Univ. of Missouri offers suggestions for where to locate datasets shared by research organizations.
Core Statistical Databases
- Data-Planet Statistical Datasets This link opens in a new windowSearch and browse through 35 billion data points in over 4.9 billion datasets sourced from over 75 public and private sources covering sixteen subject areas, focused on social sciences.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowFull text of OECD Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. 1998 to present.
- Roper iPoll This link opens in a new windowThe largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present, containing poll questions and answers, datasets, and survey questionnaires from academic, commercial, and media survey organizations from both U.S. and international polling firms.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowSocial Explorer is a web based demography research and learning tool. Provides easy access to historical census data for the United States through the use of interactive maps and reports." Census data from 1940 to 2000 at census tract, county, state and national level is included in the Social Explorer.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowData on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market researcher, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
- UNData This link opens in a new windowFind international statistics collected by the United Nations and related organizations.
- World Bank Data This link opens in a new windowDevelopment statistics by country, topic and indicators. Includes data visualization and analysis tools and downloadable files.
More Statistical Databases and Websites
- Data.govThe purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
- ICPSR This link opens in a new windowICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) is the world's largest archive of computer-readable social science data.
- U.S. Census Data This link opens in a new windowProvides access to US Census data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowExtensive source of historical quantitative data about the U.S. in downloadable and customizable form.
- Statistical AbstractAuthoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. For 2011+, consult the ProQuest Statistical Abstract (FM-2-DOC- R 317.3 U58sa).
- Freedom House: Freedom in the World
Freedom House’s annual country-by-country report on global political rights and civil liberties. - GapminderA non-profit venture promoting sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals. The site includes moving graphics that display development trends by the countries, time periods, and indicators you choose.
- Global Poverty Mapping ProjectThe Global Poverty Mapping Project has downloadable poverty data sets and maps. The Poverty Mapping Project is sponsored by CIESIN (The Center for International Earth Science Information Network) at the Earth Institute, Columbia University.
- Human Development ReportsThe UN Human Development office publishes global, regional and national human development reports. Human Development Report's primary purpose is to assess the state of human development across the globe and provide a critical analysis of a specific theme each year. It combines thematic policy analysis with detailed country data that focus on human well-being, not just economic trends.
- International Programs DataMaintained by the Bureau of the Census, this database provides demographic data for selected indicators, countries and user-selected regions, and years, population statistics, and summary data, population pyramids and access to more data for a single country.
- NationMasterDesigned by a web publishing company in Australia, this site gathers statistics from a variety of sources, mostly international agencies, and presents them in an easy-to-use and interesting graphical formats.
- World Bank Data This link opens in a new windowDevelopment statistics by country, topic and indicators. Includes data visualization and analysis tools and downloadable files.