Bioengineering: Background Information and Books

Reference Works

Biomedical Engineering Handbook

The Biomedical Engineering Handbook covers a wide array of biomedical engineering topics in short chapters often written by experts in their field.

The handbook is separated into four volumes listed below. All volumes are available as a combined ebook. The first and second volumes can be accessed and downloaded separately.

Review Articles

Review articles give a bird's eye view of a field or niche within a field. They can also contain useful bibliographies/works cited lists.

In many research databases, you can pre-limit or filter your search results to review articles.

One publisher, Annual Reviews, publishes only review articles. Try searching their Web site (listed below) for your topic.

Why Use eBooks/Books

• Good for in-depth background information.
• You don't have to read the whole book! Search within eBooks to find where a specific keyword is mentioned.
• Use glossaries, indexes, Table-of-Contents and other features to quickly scan for relevance.
• Check bibliographies/references for mentions of other important works.

How to Find eBooks/Books

• Use the Library Single Search from the LTS Hompage (lts.lehigh.edu) to search for books and eBooks.
• Use Ebook Central or other eBook providers from the A-to-Z Database List to complete more in-depth searching.

Request Books through Interlibrary Loan

Below please find a list of Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) you can use to search the ASA library catalog by Subject:

​" Biochips, Biocompatibility, Bioengineering, Bioethics, Bioinformatics, Biological transport, Biomechanics, Biomedical engineering, Biomedical materials, Biosensors, Biotechnology, Colloids in medicine, DNA microarrays, Human mechanics, Image analysis, Image processing, Imaging systems in medicine, Medical informatics, Medical instruments and apparatus, Nanotechnology, Polymeric drugs, Polymers in medicine, Prosthesis, Recombinant molecules, Tissue engineering."

From:
Osif, Bonnie A., ed. Using the Engineering Literature, Second Edition. Baton Rouge, US: CRC Press, 2011. ProQuest ebrary. Web. 23 November 2016.