Library Guides: EES 090 Exploration of Inner Space Fall 2021: Scholarly Articles

Academic Literature Databass

You can use the the databases below to find more information about your topic, such as scholarly review articles about your topic, and also (when available) articles that cite the article on which you are focusing. Below this box there is one that that focuses on a specific type of journal article, review articles. These provide a 5,000 foot view of a subject and can be very helpful in providing background information.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Helps find current articles that cite earlier work. Covers STEM, social sciences, & arts and humanities. Has an emerging sources citation index. Useful for identifying review articles Note: Web of Science generally does not include conference proceedings in search results.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources. Try out the advanced search screen by clicking on the downward arrow that appears to the right of the search box.
(Note: To maximize access to Lehigh resources, when in Google Scholar, go to Settings, then Library links, then type in Lehigh University. If we do not subscribe to an article, this setting will enable a Lehigh Link to obtain the article via interlibrary loan.)

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Geosciences database covering journals, books, maps, government reports, conference papers, theses and dissertations. Has "GeoRef in Process", which includes references possibly not yet indexed or finalized.

There are other databases (scroll down for links) you can consult for your assignments.

Academic Search Complete covers both popular and scholarly literature. To limit to scholarly articles, find the place where you can limit to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals."
Annual Reviews is dedicated to review articles. Tip: sort the search results in descending date order so you see the most recent review articles for your topic.)

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
Upgraded from Academic Search Premier in 2019.
Annual Reviews Online This link opens in a new window
Suite of journals in science, engineering, and social sciences publishing only review articles, which provide extensive overviews of current research.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
Covers 1987 - present.

Review Articles

Review articles are a special type of journal article. They can be a great source of background information as well as bibliography when you research a science topic. See the tutorial page of this guide; one component of the tutorial linked there concerns review articles. It has a video.

You can restrict to review articles after doing a Web of Science. Also, see the Annual Reviews database in the above box. It has just review articles.

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

EES 090 Exploration of Inner Space Fall 2021

Academic Literature Databass

Review Articles