It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use background information? Background research:
Provides a good overview of the topic if you are unfamiliar with it. (example: a student doing a market research report on a company using a business research database to lookup information on a particular basis)
Helps identify important facts -- terminology, dates, events, history, organizations, etc (example: a student writing a literary analysis paper using a dictionary of literary terms)
Can help guide your thinking on a topic by providing a foundation. (example: a student completing a mock policy brief on fracking in Pennsylvania consulting a dictionary of environment and conservation)
Leads to bibliographies which provide additional sources of information. (example: a student writing a literature review on clinical treatment of postpartum depression researching the history of postpartum depression in a psychology encyclopedia)
Oxford Reference includes dictionaries, including authoritative dictionaries for many languages, encyclopedias, and companions, featuring more in-depth but still brief entries, e.g. Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization.
An excellent source for background information and getting started on a topic, CQ Researcher encompasses original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. It offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues.
Covers a wide range of topics including: health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, crime, and civil liberties.