Library Guides: SOC313: Social Movements: Getting Started

Research Assistance

Email Me

Contact:

E. W. Fairchild-Martindale Library
Room 511

(610) 758-6233

Subjects: Anthropology, Communications, English as a Second Language, Global Studies, History, International Relations, Journalism, Latin American Studies, Political Science, Social Sciences, Sociology

Alabama State Government information

Official and Statistical Register
- This link opens in a new window
The Alabama Official and Statistical Register, produced every two years by the State of Alabama Department of Archives and History, contains biographical information on Alabama State legislators, judges, and electoral information for the state.
1921 Anti-Boycotting Law
Available from the Alabama State Archives at http://digital.archives.alabama.gov/cdm/compoundobject/collection/legislature/id/108799/rec/39

Constitution of Alabama
Alabama State Constitution of 1901 via the Alabama Legislature. The Constitution as it stood in December 1956 includes the first 115 amendments (Amendment 115 was ratified on November 6, 1956). Subsequent amendments were passed after the events of the game took place and so should not be used.

Primary Source Databases

African American Newspapers: 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
Features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
Newspaper coverage of events and issues of the day, as well as biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digitized versions (usually from microfilm copies) of newspapers from most American states, some with many issues and some with only a few.
Produced by the Library of Congress, covers 1836 - 1922
Early American Newspapers, Series II, 1758-1900 This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 200 significant 18th and 19th-century newspapers, focusing on the period between 1820 and 1860, when the number of American newspapers rose dramatically.
Based primarily on the newspaper collection of the American Antiquarian Society, Series II also includes titles from the holdings of the Library of Congress, the Wisconsin Historical Society and other organizations. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper.
New York Times (Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
A full-image archive that includes the entire historical run of The New York Times, since 1851.The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Covers Sept. 18, 1851 to 3 years before the current year
Philadelphia Inquirer (Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
A full-image archive that covers the Philadelphia Inquirer from 1860-2001. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
A full-image archive that covers the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette from 1786-2003. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.

Primary Source Collections provided by A.M. Explorer This link opens in a new window
Enables cross searching of 88 primary source collections covering a wide range of humanities and social science subjects.
Major themes include Area Studies, Cultural Studies, Empire and Globalism, Ethnic Studies, Gender and Sexuality, History, Politics, Literature, Theatre, and War and Conflict
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
More than video: a collection of newsreels, archives, public affairs footage, and documentaries, both commercial and government sponsored.
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1900.
Includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
ARTStor This link opens in a new window
Database of digital images that may be used for academic purposes only. These collections are interdisciplinary, supporting research and teaching in both the humanities and social sciences.
ARTstor also contains images and collections relevant to African and African-American Studies, American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Classics, Costume Design & Fashion, Geography, History, Language & Literature, Latin American Studies, Marketing, Medicine & Natural Sciences, Middle Eastern Studies, Music, Native American Studies, Religious Studies, Theatre & Dance, and Women’s Studies. Through ARTstor, one can search, organize & save, download, or create presentations. Further privileges can be granted to those with instructor status.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) This link opens in a new window
Aggregates collections from a vast span of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available on the web, with contents ranging from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, provided by the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).
Subjects covered in the collection reach all facets of American life, including science, literature, medicine, women's fashion, agriculture, family life, and religion.

African American Newspapers: 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
Features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
Newspaper coverage of events and issues of the day, as well as biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.
African American Periodicals: 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 170 African American Periodicals published between 1825 and 1995.

Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of leading women’s interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through 2005. Includes Better Homes & Gardens, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, Seventeen, and more.
Women and Social Movements, International This link opens in a new window
Digital primary source archive containing conference proceedings; reports of international women's organizations; publications of women's NGOs; and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-1800s.
Also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of women’s international social movements.

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

SOC313: Social Movements

Research Assistance

Alabama State Government information

Primary Source Databases