Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

EES 90 Lands of the Midnight Sun Fall 2021

Class exercise

Brian Simboli        8-5003;  brs4@lehigh.edu

CLASS EXERCISE

In this exercise, you will find a set of resources that are candidates for use in the annotated bibliography you will be generating.

Read the "Instructions for Research Project Annotated Bibliography" in CourseSite, then do the following.

As you find sources, list the citations for items you find in a Word document and keep it for your work on the annotated bibliography.   

1. Find two sources of background information

Find two sources of information that will help give a broad overview of your topic or that help clarify concepts or terminology you may encounter in your research.

One should be a website that satisfies the criteria for website reliability in the page about Background Information (the "crapp" test).  Do not use Wikipedia as one of the answers—though definitely look at Wikipedia to see what other resources it might suggest!  

The other should be an encyclopedia, if you can find one that is relevant. Check in the background information page of this guide, but if the items there don't help, see if you can find in one of the subject library guides. If you can't find an encyclopedia, replace it with a website that you deem a reliable source of information.

2. Find two popular articles

First, review the page “Scholarly versus Popular Articles”.

Then go to the Finding Articles page and search the resources in the box devoted to newspaper and magazine article databases.. Make sure that you are searching magazines, newspapers and other popular sources when you use a given databases. For example, Research Library has both popular and scholarly articles represented. 

3. Find two scholarly articles

To determine where to find scholarly articles about your subject, look around in the library general subject guides to find databases to search. For example, if your topic has to do with earth sciences, go to this guide. Or history, or biology, and so on.  

Just find two scholarly articles and read their abstracts. To do so, make sure you limit to scholarly/peer reviewed articles. 

You don't have to read the articles in depth; just skim them over at this point. 

Don't forget that if you find one article that looks good, or at least somewhat relevant, you can find other articles by finding "citing" articles published later in time that cite the article. You can also find other items that the article itself cites. 

If you do not find the article's full text from within the database itself, see if Lehigh has electronic full text for that article by checking the SFX/Lehigh link. You don't have to open the full text.   

See if you can find a review journal article, which gives you an overview of developments in a research area plus bibliography. Some databases you can use for this purpose are below. Annual Reviews consists of just review articles; in Web of Science, you can run a search and then restrict to review articles on the left of the search results.

4.  Find one ebook

Go to the Finding Books page. Go to ASA, the search engine near the top of the library homepage.  To limit to ebooks, see the filter on the right of the search results. View the tutorial about finding ebooks.

5.  Find one government source

See the Government Resources page of the library guide. Hunt around in the links there, or if you want, use the advanced google search capability mentioned there, using the limit to “.gov” items.

6. Find one visual 

See the guide of this page about finding visuals. Find a visual using the Creative Common Source and note  the allowable use specified.

7. Cite your resources

Some tips: in some databases where you search for articles,  you can find a place to cite the article. Since these may contain errors, check a style guide for the style you chose. Go to this library guide to find style guides.  For example, if you selected the APA style, look for Purdue's "Owl" guide. 

Keep in mind the distinction between in-text citations, which are in the paper itself, and references in the bibliography of a paper. In-text citation point to the references. 

8. Set up an ILLiad account

While you won’t use it for this exercise, spend two minutes setting up an ILLiad account. ILLiad enables you to order articles or books that Lehigh does not have. (Palci is another service normally used to find print books that Lehigh does not have; It can be useful throughout your career at Lehigh, but check whether it is still shut down during the covid period.) Go to http://library.lehigh.edu/ill. Click on ILLiad. Fill out required one-time registration information. *You don’t need to order articles for the exercise, but you may find ILLiad useful later in the course.* Wait until you are sure you need an article before using ILLiad.

9. Set up VPN for off-campus work

If you are going to work off campus, learn how to set up VPN. Make sure to select the library option.