Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

EES 90 Lands of the Midnight Sun Fall 2020

Class exercise

Brian Simboli        8-5003;  brs4@lehigh.edu

The exercise below enables you to explore information resources for your topics. The full exercise will be due next week (week of Oct. 12), but please bring one or two sources for the class on Thursday, Oct. 8.  Choose any of the exercises below for that purpose. We will have an informal discussion of what you discovered thus far and any questions you have or challenges you face in discovering relevant sources. 

Prof. Ramage will explain how to upload your final set of exercises. 

As you find sources, list the citations for items you find. You don't need to provide the full text of the article, but if you see an abstract (summary) for an article, make sure you have read it.  Don’t worry at this point about precisely following the citation style (AGU) recommended in this library guide. Just put down basic citation details. As you work on your project during the semester and settle on the sources you want to use, you can follow the AGU style.      

All of your searching should relate to specific project topic you selected.

By the way, no need to watch the videos in this library guide at any point; they help review many of the things in the library presentation.

1. Find two sources of background information

Find two sources. One should be a website that satisfies the criteria for website reliability in the page about Background Information. Do not use Wikipedia as one of the answers—though definitely look at Wikipedia to see what other resources it might suggest!  

The other should be an encyclopedia, if you can find one that is relevant. There are some in this guide, but if they don't help, see if you can find in one of the subject library guides. If you can't find an encyclopedia, replace it with a website that you deem a reliable source of information.

2. Find two popular articles

First, review the page “Scholarly versus Popular Articles”.

Then go to the Finding Articles page and search the newspaper and magazine article resources there. 

3. Find two scholarly articles

Just find two articles and read their abstracts. You don't have to read the articles. 

First, if you need a refresher (after the library presentation), watch 7 Search Tools for Literature Databases
and then the Web of Science tutorial. Then search Web of Science or one of these two databases: Academic Search Ultimate or Research Library. Use the techniques you learned in the tutorial about search techniques.

Make sure you limit to scholarly/peer reviewed articles. 

Or you can look around in the library general subject guides to find databases to search. For example, if your topic has to do with earth sciences, go to this guide. Or history, or biology, and so on.  

If you do not find the article's full text, see if Lehigh has electronic full text for that article by checking the SFX/Lehigh link. You don't have to open the full text.  Indicate in your Word document whether the Lehigh Link gets you directly to it.

See if the database you use lets you limit your results to just “review” articles and if you find a good one, then use it as one of your two articles.  

4.  Find one ebook

Go to the Finding Books page. Go to ASA, the search engine near the top of the library homepage.  To limit to ebooks, see the filter on the right of the search results. View the tutorial about finding ebooks.

5.  Find one government source

See the Government Resources page of the library guide. Hunt around in the links there, or if you want, use the advanced google search capability mentioned there, using the limit to “.gov” items.

6. Find one visualization 

Can you find any visualizations relating to your topic? This can be a map, a youtube, graph, or anything that helps some visualize any aspect of your topic. Record the link here. Ideas for searching:

a. use Google Advanced Search and put in the term visualization plus keywords related to your topic.

b. see if the article you came up with has any graphs or figures that help explain an interesting aspect of your topic.

==

While you won’t use it for this exercise, spend two minutes setting up an ILLiad account. ILLiad enables you to order articles or books that Lehigh does not have. (Palci is another service normally used to find print books that Lehigh does not have; It can be useful throughout your career at Lehigh, but check whether it is still shut down during the covid period.) Go to http://library.lehigh.edu/ill. Click on ILLiad. Fill out required one-time registration information. *You don’t need to order articles for the exercise, but you may find ILLiad useful later in the course.* Wait until you are sure you need an article before using ILLiad.