Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals frequently used at Lehigh University in computer science and engineering research.
Papers read at conferences are the "progress reports" on research that will eventually be published in journals.
Computer Science Conferences
A Wikipedia article with an extensive list of academic computer science conferences, arranged by category. Useful as an overview.
IEEE Computer Society
Click on the link to the Conference Calendar. The papers from these conferences are available in IEEEXplore.
Microsoft Academic Search: Conferences
Academic Search is similar to Google Scholar but categorizes results by discipline and type of publication. Click on "Conferences" to start browsing a list of top conferences.
Technical Reports Guide
Technical reports may be issued by government agencies, corporations, or universities. Many government and academic report series have been digitized for online access, but many have not. Use this guide to find technical report sites.
What patents are, how they are organized, how to find them, and how to obtain them
Espacenet officially covers European (EPO) and World (WIPO) patents but includes current US and Japan patents. Full searching for the current 24 months. Free (page-by-page) retrieval of individual patents by number (PDF format) varies by country; some begin with 1920. Special note: these patents have alphanumeric subcodes, such as EP 1234567 A3, indicating the presence or lack of supporting documentation.
Find patents using a Google interface. PDFs of all US patents. Also covers European, Japanese, and World Patents.
Industrial Property Digital Library (Japan)
Japanese patents from 1976. Simple search engine but translates the patents into English.
Major resource for chemistry research. Many capabilities it provides includes searching chemical literature, plus substance, reaction, structure searching, and property searching. Set up instructions can be found here
Electrical, electronic, and computer engineering journals and conferences from the IEEE and IET; full text. Also includes IEEE standards.
Standards at Lehigh
Guide that lists subscribed standards and standards freely available. Includes instructions for accessing subscriptions.