Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Pre-1991 Nutrition Resources from the Library
Other Research Resources
Note: Remember to limit your search to articles published before 1991.
Freely accessible archive of biomedical and life sciences full-text journal articles at National Library of Medicine (U.S. National Institutes of Health).
Academic Search Ultimate
Indexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Physical Education Index
Contains scholarly information about physical education and sports medicine.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
Full text of scholarly journals, beginning with the very first issue of each title. Primarily humanities and social sciences titles.
Core Texts & Supplemental Documents
The Surgeon General’s Report on Nutrition and Health: policy implications and implementation strategies
McGinnis, J.M., Nestle, M., “The Surgeon General’s Report on nutrition and health: policy implications and implementation strategies” American J. Clinical Nutrition,49:23-28, 1989. https://doi.org/10.1093/ajcn/49.1.23
The Surgeon General's Report on Nutrition and Health (1988)
United States. Public Health Service. Office of the Surgeon General. The Surgeon General's report on nutrition and health. No. 88. US Dept. of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, 1988.
Dietary Goals for the United States
McGovern, George. "Dietary goals for the United States." Report of the Select Committee on Nutrition and Human Needs of the United States Senate (1977).
Diet and its relation to coronary heart disease and death in three populations
Gordon, Tavia, et. al. "Diet and its relation to coronary heart disease and death in three populations." Circulation 63, no. 3 (1981): 500-515.
Fat and colon cancer: how firm is the epidemiologic evidence
Kolonel, Laurence N. "Fat and colon cancer: how firm is the epidemiologic evidence? 13." (1987).
Editorial - The politics of dietary guidance--a new opportunity
Nestle, Marion. "The politics of dietary guidance--a new opportunity." (1994): 713-715.
U.S. Reorganizes Nutrition Advice
Burros, M. “U.S. Reorganizes Nutrition Advice” The New York Times, April 28, 1992
U.S. Rethinks, Redraws the Food Groups;New `Eating Right Pyramid' Chart Emphasizes Cereals, Legumes
Gladwell, M. “U.S. Rethinks, Redraws the Food Groups; New 'Eating Right Pyramid' Chart Emphasizes Cereals, Legumes” The Washington Post, April 13, 1991
A Hard Row to Hoe; Secretary of Agriculture Ed Madigan Tries to Cultivate Both Farmers and Consumers
Sugarman, C. “A Hard Row to Hoe; Secretary of Agriculture Ed Madigan Tries to Cultivate both Farmers and Consumer” The Washington Post, March 25, 1992
Editorial Desk “Agriculture, Cowed” The New York Times, May 1, 1991
Eating Well; “Are Cattlemen Now Guarding the Hen House”
Burros, M. “Eating Well; “Are Cattlemen Now Guarding the Hen House”, The New York Times, May 8, 1991
Catering to Cows and Consumers; Is the USDA Caught In a Conflict of Interest?
Sugarman, C., “Catering to Cows and Consumers; Is the USDA Caught In a Conflict of Interest?” The Washington Post, June 5, 1991
U.S. DELAYS ISSUING NUTRITION CHART
Burros, M. “U.S. Delays Issuing Nutrition Chart” The New York Times, April 27, 1991.
U.S. Drops New Food Chart;Meat, Dairy Groups Press Agriculture Dept.
Sugarman, C., Gladwell, M. “U.S. Drops New Food Chart; Meat, Dairy Groups Press Agriculture Department”, The Washington Post, April 27, 1991
The Meat of the Matter
Editorial: “The Meat of the Matter”, The Washington Post, May 6, 1991
The Great Pyramid at USDA
Editorial: “The Great Pyramid at USDA”, The Washington Post, April 30, 1992
Health, Medicine, & Society
Latin American Studies