Library Guides: TLT 431: Social Studies in Middle Level and High School Education: Online Resources

Lesson Plans & Curricula

Library of Congress Lesson Plans
Teacher-created, classroom-tested lesson plans using primary sources from the Library of Congress.
National Geographic Teaching Resources
Smithsonian Lesson Lab
The SLL is a major rethinking of how the digital resources from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, 9 major research centers, the National Zoo, and more, can be used together, for learning.
OER Commons
A public, digital library of open educational resources.
PBS Learning Media
Provides access to thousands of free, innovative, standards-aligned and curriculum-targeted digital resources.

ARTStor This link opens in a new window
Note: ArtSTOR has migrated into JSTOR. ArtSTOR is a database of digital images that may be used for academic purposes only. These collections are interdisciplinary, supporting research and teaching in both the humanities and social sciences.
ARTstor also contains images and collections relevant to African and African-American Studies, American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Classics, Costume Design & Fashion, Geography, History, Language & Literature, Latin American Studies, Marketing, Medicine & Natural Sciences, Middle Eastern Studies, Music, Native American Studies, Religious Studies, Theatre & Dance, and Women’s Studies. Through ARTstor, one can search, organize & save, download, or create presentations. Further privileges can be granted to those with instructor status.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) This link opens in a new window
Aggregates collections from a vast span of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available on the web, with contents ranging from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.

Creative Commons
Provides free tools that let authors, artists an educators mark their creative work with the freedoms they want it to carry.