Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If along the way in your research you need to look up the meaning of scientific terms, or if need some encyclopedic or other coverage of a scientific concept or term, check the reference resources to the right. Webpages on the internet can be useful for this as well, though make sure to evaluate them.
Background information resources
Before embarking on research, it is critical to familiarize oneself with basic concepts as well as technical terminology.
Reference resources can provide encyclopedia or other general background about concepts or methods, as well as definitions of concepts. Some are listed below.
Formerly Encyclopedia of Life Sciences, this resource from Wiley contains over 5000 peer-reviewed articles. Monthly-updating.
Online encyclopedia and dictionary for the sciences. Includes biographies, images and animations, and videos.
Not to be confused with Medline, Medline Plus is designed to give background information about medically related topics, usually at a layperson level. Includes a dictionary.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference includes dictionaries, including authoritative dictionaries for many languages, encyclopedias, and companions, featuring more in-depth but still brief entries, e.g. Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization.
You can use resources available on the open web as sources of background information. Make sure, however, that you evaluate any resource!
See following guide to evaluate resources:
A wikipedia article about the...