Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

Bios 332 Behavioral Neuroanatomy Spring 2021

Professor Swann, Spring 2021

Video Tutorial: 7 Search Tools for Literature Databases

This video tutorial  gives a generic discussion of search tools used in many library databases. Not every database uses all these tools.   

It is important to determine how to apply these search tools in the specific database relevant to your writing and research. Lehigh's library guides help you identify relevant databases for your particular topic. Go to the library homepage and then click on the "How to..." link. 

Article Databases

Below are relevant library bibliographic databases.

Another database:  Annual Reviews is a set of journals that contain review articles. Make sure, after doing a search, to rank the results in descending order by date so that you avoid older review articles.

See  science librarian if you are having trouble locating articles. Other databases can also help.

Video tutorial: Web of Science

Web of Science video tutorial.   Topics covered:  wildcards, Booleans, and phrase searching; using cited/cited searching, finding review articles. NOTE: this tutorial exemplifies points made in the video tutorial "7 Search Tools for Lliterature Databases."

Video Tutorial: Using Lehigh Links to Access Full Text

In library databases, you will see "Lehigh Links", which enable you to get out to the full text,of articles or order an article that is not available electronically. This brief tutorial video explains how to use Lehigh Links.  NOTE: for books, you will see a link to the online catalog ASA, so that you can look up a book or ebook. You will also see a link to ILLiad so you can order the print version of a book if Lehigh does not have it.

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan to request a PDF of an article that isn't available at Lehigh or a scanned PDF of a print article that Lehigh owns. You will get an email when the article is ready for download.

Have Citation, Find Article

This video tutorial shows you a way to get to the full text of an article if you have a citation. Google Scholar can be an efficient way to find an article if you have its title. It also discusses Lehigh Links, from which you can get to the full text or order the article via "ILLiad".

You may also want to download the Google Scholar Browser extension available here, so that you don't have to look up Google Scholar but instead have it readily available right in your browser.

Another way to  find the full text that corresponds to a citation is to use the citation linker on the library homepage, far lower right under Quick Links.

For other techniques for finding articles, contact Brian Simboli.