Library Guides: HMS/SOC 090: How Did Opioids Become an Epidemic?: Citing Sources

Citation Styles

Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association A WALL STREET JOURNAL, USA TODAY, AND PUBLISHERS WEEKLY BESTSELLER. The newest official release of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition includes four different formats--spiral-bound and tabbed, paperback, hardcover, and ebook, all of which are in full color. It is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields.  Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work.   The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Easy navigation, with topics divided into numbered sections to help users quickly location the information they need  Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types, guidelines on citing course materials, and guidance on writing clearly, precisely, and concisely Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards (JARS) that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style Updated chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, racial and ethnic identity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality  Updated chapter on essential style guidelines for scholarly writing, including punctuation, italics, capitalization, abbreviations, and numbers  More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, legal resources, and many other document types  Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: Linderman 2nd Floor - Rotunda 808.06 P967p 2022
Publication Date: 2019

APA Style (Excelsior's OWL)
Examples for both in-text citations and for references at the end of the paper.
APA Style (Purdue OWL)
Information on how to format citations in APA style. Contains a sample of a formatted paper.
Lehigh's APA Citation Guide (7th ed.)
Contains citation examples, checklists, videos, etc.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language; The Modern Language Association of America Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbookis published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts--middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields--the ninth edition of the MLA Handbookoffers *New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language *Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project *Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before *A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTubevideos, interviews, and more *Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources *Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work *Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes *Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism *A sample essay in MLA format *Annotated bibliography examples *Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation *Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
Call Number: Linderman 2nd Floor - Rotunda - 808.2 M689ml 2021
Publication Date: 2021

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Official online version of the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook.
The new, official online version of the ninth edition has been expanded to include many more examples of citations in a wide variety of formats, including digital media like video games and YouTube videos.

MLA Style (Excelsior's OWL)
Includes information on both in-text citations and citations for the Works Cited list.
MLA Style (Purdue's OWL)
Information on how to format citations in MLA style. Contains a sample of a formatted paper.

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Call Number: Linderman 1st Floor - Reading Room - Reference 808.027 C532c 2017
Publication Date: 2017

Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition)
Full text of the manual available via the Internet Archive.
Chicago Manual of Style Online - Quick Guide
Includes examples for both the author-date style and the notes and bibliography style.
Chicago Manual of Style (Purdue OWL)
Information on how to format citations and footnotes in Chicago style. Contains a sample of a formatted paper.
Chicago Style (Excelsior OWL)
Examples of citations using notes (e.g. footnotes) and bibliographies.

Reasons For Citing

When asked why they should cite your sources, many students reply, "So you don't get accused of plagiarizing." This is a good reply, but there are other good reasons as well:

To make your arguments credible. For example, if you are writing about a disease, using statistics from a reputable source like the World Health Organization or Centers for Disease Control can lead your reader to trust your argument more.
To preserve the reputation and rigor of your institution. Help to uphold Lehigh's high academic standards.
To show you've done your homework. Certain experts frequently appear in articles and books about your topic. Citing their work shows you have done your research.
To build a foundation for your paper. Breakthroughs in scholarship typically build on earlier, groundbreaking work of others. Newton said: "If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." What writings inspire you?
To allow your readers to find the sources for themselves. Citing sources *within* your paper ("in-text citations") inform your reader what sources relate to parts of your argument. The full citation at the end of your paper helps your reader locate the sources.

Knowing When to Cite

Tips for Plagiarism Prevention

Don't procrastinate. Students who rush their work can make careless mistakes, such as forgetting to include a particular citation, or not having all the information needed for documentation. Students under pressure may also make poor choices, such as not documenting sources and hoping the professor won't notice. Believe us- your professor will notice, and you won't like the long-term consequences.
Take careful notes. Be very clear in your notes whether you are writing down word-for-word what you found somewhere else, recording your own ideas, paraphrasing, or summarizing. Record all the information you will need to create your citations.
Use a citation tool. Many databases provide automatically generated citations, just be sure to double check them. Lehigh also supports ZoteroBib, Zotero, and RefWorks.
Cite your sources. Whenever you quote, paraphrase, summarize, or share an unusual fact, tell your reader where the information came from.
Get comfortable with the required citation style. Some of the commonly used citation styles on our campus are APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian. While they share many similarities, they also have differing requirements in regards to what and when to cite.
Ask your professor. If you're not sure about citing something, check with your instructor. Ultimately, she will be the one grading your assigment- or bringing you up on plagiarism charges.

HMS/SOC 090: How Did Opioids Become an Epidemic?

Citation Styles

Reasons For Citing

Knowing When to Cite

Tips for Plagiarism Prevention

Library and Technology Services

Connect with Us

Make a Gift