Library Guides: IR 323: Political Economy of Industrialization and Development: Finding Books and Articles

Required Reading

The Bottom Billion by Paul Collier Global poverty is falling rapidly, but in around fifty failing states, the world's poorest people face a tragedy that is growing inexorably worse. This bottom billion live on less than a dollar a day and while the rest of the world moves steadily forward, this forgotten billion is left further and further behind with potentially serious consequences not only for them but for the stability of the rest of the world. Why do the states these people live in defy all the attempts of the international aid community to help them? Why does nothing seem to make a difference? In The Bottom Billion, Paul Collier pinpoints the issues of corruption, political instability and resource management that lie at the root of the problem. He describes the battle raging in these countries between corrupt leaders and would-be reformers and the factors such as civil war, dependence on the export of natural resources and lack of good governance that trap them into a downward spiral of economic and social decline.; Collier addresses the fact that conventional aid has been unable to tackle these problems and puts forward a radical new plan of action including a new agenda for the G8 which includes more effective anti-corruption measures, preferential trade policies and where necessary direct military intervention. All of these initiatives are carefully designed to help the forgotten bottom billion, one of the key challenges facing the world in the twenty first century.
Call Number: ebook and in print (338.9009172 C699b)
Publication Date: 2007

Journals and Reviews

Annual Reviews Online This link opens in a new window
Suite of journals in science, engineering, and social sciences publishing only review articles, which provide extensive overviews of current research.

Energy Strategy Reviews
An open access journal hosted on ScienceDirect.

Core Article Databases

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Covers 1991 onward.
Foreign Policy This link opens in a new window
Premium access to online magazine providing coverage of global affairs, domestic and international policy, and international news and opinion. Sign up for an account with your Lehigh email address using this link to access the mobile app, newsletters, FP Live events, and more.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.
Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
Political science, public policy, and international relations database of scholarly articles with full text of many documents.
Includes PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA). Covers 1985 to present (full text) and 1914 to present (abstracts)

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Covers journals, books, and working papers on economics providing citations for dissertations and articles in more than 620 collective volumes per year.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers publications including periodicals, book reviews, dissertations about the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding North America). Some full text available.
Covers materials published from 1971 to present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journals, books and reference resources published by Elsevier, a major publisher of research material.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
Upgraded from Academic Search Premier in 2019.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals, beginning with the very first issue of each title. Primarily humanities and social sciences titles.
There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the content available through JSTOR. A broad range of disciplines are represented.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Social sciences database that offers international coverage of subject areas including Political Science, Public Policy, Sociology, Education, Psychology, Economics, Linguistics, and Criminal Justice
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Part of Web of Science. Provides powerful access to authoritative content from the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals. Covers 1982 to present.

Accessing Articles Without Full Text Through Lehigh Databases

Watch the video to learn about gaining full text access to articles using Unpaywall, Google Scholar, and interlibrary loan.

Subject Headings vs. Keywords

Video created by WMHS Library, Wellington, New Zealand

IR 323: Political Economy of Industrialization and Development

Google Scholar

Interlibrary Loan for Books

Interlibrary Loan

Required Reading

Journals and Reviews

Core Article Databases

Additional Databases

Accessing Articles Without Full Text Through Lehigh Databases

Subject Headings vs. Keywords

Library and Technology Services

Connect with Us

Make a Gift