BIOS 382 Endocrinology Of Behavior Fall 2023

The goal of this hands-on exercise is to give you practice in:

• finding reliable background information sources
• searching for scholarly journal articles for use in your paper and presentation.  
• putting the articles and background sources into the "CSE" style.

To do the exercise, follow the steps below in order.  At the bottom of the page are some post-assignment recommendations.

The science librarian can help with questions.

 **IMPORTANT: READ THE INSTRUCTIONS AND NOTES BELOW AS YOU WORK ON THE EXERCISE. OPEN A WORD DOCUMENT AND WRITE DOWN ANSWERS TO THE QUESTIONS THAT APPEAR BELOW.

EXERCISE IS DUE 10:00 ON THURSDAY, SEPT. 7.

Open a Word document and answer the following questions.

See the tutorial page of this guide to refresh your knowledge of topics covered in the tutorial. Use the second format of the tutorial for that purpose--easier to navigate to specific topics.

QUESTION 1 

Indicate which disease or condition you want to focus on in the exercise:

• Type one diabetes
• Type two diabetes
• Metabolic syndrome.

QUESTION 2 [do the other questions first during the class period--this exercise is relatively simple]

Go to the background information sources page of this guide.

Find two background resources that address one or more of the following of the disease/condition: symptoms, causes, and treatments. List the titles and URLs for the two sources.

Under Background Information Sources page, go to the Free Internet Resources box and select "Evaluating Web Resources". Use some of the CRAPP test criteria there to briefly evaluate the background resources you found. (The criteria can be used for websites, but also other types of background resources.)

Open this database:

Make sure you see the following:

If you do not see the Medline database, click on the the drag down menu for "Select a Database" and select Medline. 

NOTE: Medline (via Web of Science) and Web of Science are distinct databases. It just happens that you can get to Medline via the Web of Science interface.  Again, use Medline for this exercise. 

QUESTION 3

USE MEDLINE TO FIND A SCHOLARLY ARTICLE. 

Review the guide about searching Medline here--look for the "MEDLINE on Web of Science Quick Reference Guide (scroll down to see it, on the right)".  More here. (You can also look at this video at some later point.)

Use the following techniques when you set up a search statement:

• Truncation. Example: diabet* 
• Logical operators (AND, OR). Example: insulin or glucagon
• Phrase searching. Example: "metabolic syndrome".   
• Nesting: diabet* and (insulin or glucagon)

Here's an example (actually related to the topic of covid, but you get the drift) of how to create a search in Medline. The parentheses help to "nest" mini-searches that are processed first, then added to the larger search. Make sure "Topic" is selected as the search type, as in this example:

Once you create your search string, click "Search".

Now go to the left of the search results. Here you see a column of filters you can use to narrow your search. Under the filter for Publication Types, select "Journal Article": 

You may have to narrow or broaden your search. Tips:

•  Use other filters (other than publication type) that appear to the left of your search results.

• "MeSH" terms and qualifiers may appear (example below) in the Medline record for an article you like. They describe what an article is about. Use them for ideas about how to refine your search when "topic" is selected, as it was in the example we started with. There are other ways to use these terms, but we'll keep it simple! 

Example of MeSH Terms in a Medline record:

Now select an article from the search results that interests you.

Make sure that the article is not a "review" or a "systematic review" article. To do so, when you look at the entire search record that comes up, you should see "journal" but don't see "review" or "systematic review" listed as a document type in the full record that you come up. For example, you might see the following in the full record (items circled), in which case this will not be one of your two records.

QUESTION 4.

How many times has the article you selected been cited by other items? To answer this, look for what's circled in this example:

QUESTION 5

You will need to indicate for the first article and the two others you find whether you can get directly to the full text of the article. Recall the tutorial discussion about Lehigh Links: Clicking on that button, you will either get access directly to the full text; if not, you would have to use ILLiad to order a copy of the article. You don't need to order a copy via ILLiad for this assignment.

QUESTION 6

FIND A SECOND ARTICLE USING THE FIRST ARTICLE.

After you find this article, use it to help you find a second article that again not a "review" or a "systematic review" article. This second article should be related in topic to the first article. Here are various techniques you can try to find a second article related in this way:

• in the search result for the first article, click on the "citations" link, which indicates number of times it was cited. You just saw that above. This is a powerful way to find your second article. One item will not cite another unless it is related in subject to the first.
• click on "view related records" to the right after you go into a record. 
• use keywords or MeSH terms from that first article to tweak your search and find the second article
• see if the author of the first article has published a second, related article.

Write down the title of this second article in your Word document.

QUESTION 7

FIND A THIRD ARTICLE--THIS TIME A REVIEW ARTICLE, AGAIN RELATED CLOSELY TO THE TOPIC OF THE FIRST AND SECOND ARTICLES YOU FOUND ABOVE.

A review article discusses the literature about a topic. It is a good place to find more bibliography but also to develop further your background knowledge of a topic.

Run a search on your topic and then go to the left to see the "filters" that appear to the left in search results (we saw these earlier.)  Under "Publication Types",  select "review" and/or "systematic reviews". If a review article does not appear there, try broadening your search. (Make sure the items that come up are scholarly journal article, not books.)

Here you can see a definition of reviews and "systematic reviews".

Write down the title to the article in your Word document.

This is background for questions 8 and 9, below.

We will use the Council of Science Editors reference (CSE) style below.

Say your search brought up this journal article. How do you cite it in CSE style? 

Turn to the section about journal articles on p. 4 of the Council of Science Editors reference (CSE) style guide, which says to cite the article as:

This reference is in the form: Authors. Publication year. Article title. Journal title abbreviated. Volume (Issue): Page numbers. DOI.

IMPORTANT!

Note how these elements correspond to these color-matched  elements in the article:

To render your articles in CSE style, there are two steps:

(a) use ZoteroBib to help create the citation

(b) no such tool is going to be perfect, so the second step involves editing ZoteroBib's output by checking the CSE style guide.

First, click on ZoteroBib. Type in the article title: 

Click cite. It will say "please select a citation from the list". Click the option that corresponds to your article.   
 
Under "bibliography, you'll see the item cited in a citation style, but it will probably be different from CSE style (e.g., it might be Modern Language Associations (MLA) style).  Open the menu.  Click on the button that says "10,000+ other styles available". Search for the "Council of Science Editors, Name-Year (author-date)"
format. Click on "Add". Now you can select this citation style and render your article in it.

You'll see this come up:

 

NOTE:

If you need more information about ZoteroBib, see here for a demo and some youtubes.

Now check what ZoteroBib came up with, against the CSE style guide. Here's some practice using that guide:

QUESTION 8

Mark correct answer to the question here:

Which of the following (A or B or C) is the correct CSE style for this article, as indicated in the CSE guide? Mark the correct answer. 

1. SM Adl, et al.  2007. Diversity, nomenclature, and taxonomy of protists. Syst Biol., Volume 56, Issue 4, pages  684-689. 

2. Adl SM, Leander BS, Simpson AGB, Archibald JM, Anderson OR, Bass D, Bowser SS, Brugerolle G,  Farmer MA, Karpov S, et al. 2007. "Diversity, nomenclature, and taxonomy of protists." Systematic Biology, 56(4):684-689.

3. Adl SM, Leander BS, Simpson AGB, Archibald JM, Anderson OR, Bass D, Bowser SS, Brugerolle G, Farmer MA, Karpov S, et al. 2007. Diversity, nomenclature, and taxonomy of protists. Syst Biol. 56(4):684-689.

QUESTION 9

Take one of the articles you found and put it into CSE style, using the guidelines in the CSE guide above  (or, you can use ZoteroBib but then correct any mistakes it has by checking the CSE style guide.)

Fine points:

• You need the abbreviation of the journal. See the relevant links on the CSE guide, above. See p. 3, "Verifying how to abbreviate Journal Titles".
• For this exercise, you do not have to add the "DOI", mentioned at the bottom of p. 2 the CSE style guide above. (This is a unique document identifier.)
• If you have trouble finding the "issue" number, try this. Go to  scholar.google.com. Search on the title of the article.  Look for the Cite link.  You might find the issue number there.
• See the notes on p. 3  of the CSE guide under "12. Document/article number" if you encounter the following:  "Some journal articles are assigned a document or article number. This reflects the emerging digital publishing environment when articles are numbered individually." Follow the directions there.

QUESTION 10

If you write a paper, within the text of the paper you need to add in-text citations. These are brief references within the text of the paper that point to the citation for that paper as it appears in the references at the end of the paper. 

Read  p. 9 of the CSE style guide about "Citing sources within the text using the Name-Year (N-Y) system.” 

Take one of the three journal articles. How would you create an "in-text" citation for that reference?

Note: for future reference, when you write a paper and need to put in "in-text citations" , note that ZoteroBib lets you do them. See this youtube.

SOME THINGS YOU MAY WANT TO CONSIDER FOR AFTER THE EXERCISE. . .

• READING SCHOLARLY ARTICLES

Look at some of the resources on the page of this guide titled "Reading Scholarly Articles" and write in your Word document one thing you learned from them.

• SET UP AN "ILLIAD" ACCOUNT [SKIP IF YOU HAVE ALREADY DONE THIS]

Spend two minutes setting up an ILLiad account, if you have not done so already. ILLiad enables you to order articles that Lehigh does not have electronically. Lehigh will order the item for you, or scan it for you if Lehigh has it in print. In either case, you will receive an email with a link to the article. You may need to use ILLiad later in the semester or for other assignments or classes. Go here. Click on ILLiad. Fill out required one-time registration information. (If you want a tutorial, see here.)

• REVIEW THE FOLLOWING, TO AVOID PLAGIARISM!

Citations, Summarizing, and Paraphrasing: Why Do We Cite

• SET UP VPN  [SKIP IF YOU HAVE ALREADY DONE THIS]

If you're off campus, VPN  can help you access articles on the web that you cannot directly access otherwise. NOTE: Even with VPN on, you may be prompted for the Lehigh login and password that you use in accessing Lehigh email.   

When using the library services, make sure to select the "Library/International" option when accessing VPN. The screen where you see that option may be hiding behind another screen, so make sure to look for it!

To set up VPN, see Remote Connectivity - the Lehigh VPN.