Class Texts
Not Fit for Our Society by
In a book of deep and telling ironies, Peter Schrag provides essential background for understanding the fractious debate over immigration. Covering the earliest days of the Republic to current events, Schrag sets the modern immigration controversy within the context of three centuries of debate over the same questions about who exactly is fit for citizenship. He finds that nativism has long colored our national history, and that the fear--and loathing--of newcomers has provided one of the faultlines of American cultural and political life. Schrag describes the eerie similarities between the race-based arguments for restricting Irish, German, Slav, Italian, Jewish, and Chinese immigrants in the past and the arguments for restricting Latinos and others today. He links the terrible history of eugenic "science" to ideas, individuals, and groups now at the forefront of the fight against rational immigration policies. Not Fit for Our Society makes a powerful case for understanding the complex, often paradoxical history of immigration restriction as we work through the issues that inform, and often distort, the debate over who can become a citizen, who decides, and on what basis.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2010
The Land of Open Graves by
In his gripping and provocative debut, anthropologist Jason De León sheds light on one of the most pressing political issues of our time--the human consequences of US immigration policy. The Land of Open Graves reveals the suffering and deaths that occur daily in the Sonoran Desert of Arizona as thousands of undocumented migrants attempt to cross the border from Mexico into the United States. Drawing on the four major fields of anthropology, De León uses an innovative combination of ethnography, archaeology, linguistics, and forensic science to produce a scathing critique of "Prevention through Deterrence," the federal border enforcement policy that encourages migrants to cross in areas characterized by extreme environmental conditions and high risk of death. For two decades, this policy has failed to deter border crossers while successfully turning the rugged terrain of southern Arizona into a killing field. In harrowing detail, De León chronicles the journeys of people who have made dozens of attempts to cross the border and uncovers the stories of the objects and bodies left behind in the desert. The Land of Open Graves will spark debate and controversy.
Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2015
Interlibrary Loan
Use Interlibrary Loan to request a PDF of an article that isn't available at Lehigh or a scanned PDF of a print article that Lehigh owns. You will get an email when the article is ready for download.
Jamboard Activity
Find Articles
Characteristics:
- Cover numerous topics
- May contain multiple types of sources (e.g. popular, trade, scholarly)
- Audience = educated readership
Examples:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
- JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new windowFull text of scholarly journals, beginning with the very first issue of each title. Primarily humanities and social sciences titles.
- Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals Online This link opens in a new windowOffers over 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowThe largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities. Search across more than 30 databases at one time. Full-text available. Includes newspapers, journals, popular magazines, trade publications and more.
Characteristics:
- Pertain to a particular discipline
- Often contain scholarly sources, known as peer-reviewed articles
- Articles are written and reviewed by experts in the field
- Academic audience
- Showcase original research
Examples:
- Sociology Collection This link opens in a new windowSociology and social services database with access to Sociological Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index Abstracts, and the Sociology Database with full-text coverage.
- Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowSociology research database that covers aspects of social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
Characteristics:
- Written by columnists
- Audience = general public
- Full of images
Examples:
- Sports Illustrated
- Vogue
Characteristics:
- Written by columnists, journalists, and/or reporters
- Coverage = current events
- Articles written at 8th grade reading level
Examples:
- Morning Call This link opens in a new windowCoverage from 1984 through today, including full-text, web-only content and full-color image edition.
Core Statistical Databases
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowFull text of OECD Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. 1998 to present.
- Roper iPoll This link opens in a new windowThe largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present, containing poll questions and answers, datasets, and survey questionnaires from academic, commercial, and media survey organizations from both U.S. and international polling firms.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new window(Formally known as Data Planet)
Search and browse through 35 billion data points in over 4.9 billion datasets sourced from over 75 public and private sources covering sixteen subject areas, focused on social sciences. - Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowSocial Explorer is a web based demography research and learning tool. Provides easy access to historical census data for the United States through the use of interactive maps and reports." Census data from 1940 to 2000 at census tract, county, state and national level is included in the Social Explorer.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowData on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market researcher, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
- UNData This link opens in a new windowFind international statistics collected by the United Nations and related organizations.
- World Bank Data This link opens in a new windowDevelopment statistics by country, topic and indicators. Includes data visualization and analysis tools and downloadable files.
More Statistical Databases and Websites
- Data.govThe purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
- ICPSR This link opens in a new windowICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) is the world's largest archive of computer-readable social science data.
- U.S. Census Data This link opens in a new windowProvides access to US Census data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowExtensive source of historical quantitative data about the U.S. in downloadable and customizable form.
- Statistical AbstractAuthoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. For 2011+, consult the ProQuest Statistical Abstract (FM-2-DOC- R 317.3 U58sa).
- Freedom House: Freedom in the World
Freedom House’s annual country-by-country report on global political rights and civil liberties. - GapminderA non-profit venture promoting sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals. The site includes moving graphics that display development trends by the countries, time periods, and indicators you choose.
- Global Poverty Mapping ProjectThe Global Poverty Mapping Project has downloadable poverty data sets and maps. The Poverty Mapping Project is sponsored by CIESIN (The Center for International Earth Science Information Network) at the Earth Institute, Columbia University.
- Human Development ReportsThe UN Human Development office publishes global, regional and national human development reports. Human Development Report's primary purpose is to assess the state of human development across the globe and provide a critical analysis of a specific theme each year. It combines thematic policy analysis with detailed country data that focus on human well-being, not just economic trends.
- International Programs DataMaintained by the Bureau of the Census, this database provides demographic data for selected indicators, countries and user-selected regions, and years, population statistics, and summary data, population pyramids and access to more data for a single country.
- NationMasterDesigned by a web publishing company in Australia, this site gathers statistics from a variety of sources, mostly international agencies, and presents them in an easy-to-use and interesting graphical formats.
- World Bank Data This link opens in a new windowDevelopment statistics by country, topic and indicators. Includes data visualization and analysis tools and downloadable files.
Search Techniques
1. Once you know your research interest, formulate it into a question and use the most important parts to generate keywords. Here, "Star Wars" and "myth" are the key parts of the topic, so those will be the keywords.
2. You can then use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to better refine your search.
