Library Guides: ANTH/AAS/GS 317: So You Want to Save the World: Anthropological Encounters with Humanitarianism & Development: Find Background Information

Reference Books

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Covers 1991 onward.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference includes dictionaries, including authoritative dictionaries for many languages, encyclopedias, and companions, featuring more in-depth but still brief entries, e.g. Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization.

Anthropology Resources on the Internet
American Anthropological Association maintains an extensive list of useful anthropology websites and networks of interest.

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides news coverage from a wide variety of global news outlets.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives featuring 660 of the world's top newspapers, newswires, and news sites in full-text
Publications include The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Database from LexisNexis® featuring more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Primarily in English but some foreign language news as well.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.