Library Guides: Citation Guides and Style Manuals: Social Sciences

APA

Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association A WALL STREET JOURNAL, USA TODAY, AND PUBLISHERS WEEKLY BESTSELLER. The newest official release of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition includes four different formats--spiral-bound and tabbed, paperback, hardcover, and ebook, all of which are in full color. It is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields.  Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work.   The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Easy navigation, with topics divided into numbered sections to help users quickly location the information they need  Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types, guidelines on citing course materials, and guidance on writing clearly, precisely, and concisely Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards (JARS) that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style Updated chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, racial and ethnic identity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality  Updated chapter on essential style guidelines for scholarly writing, including punctuation, italics, capitalization, abbreviations, and numbers  More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, legal resources, and many other document types  Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: 808.02 A512p ed.7 2020
Publication Date: 2019

APA Style (Excelsior's OWL)
Provides examples for both in-text citations and reference list citations.
APA Style (Purdue OWL)
Information on how to format citations in APA style. Contains a sample of a formatted paper.

Lehigh's APA Citation Guide (7th ed.)
Contains citation examples, checklists, videos, etc.

Chicago

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Call Number: 808.027 C532c 2017 (Linderman Reading Room)
Publication Date: 2017

Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition)
Full text of the manual available via the Internet Archive.
Chicago Manual of Style (Purdue OWL)
Information on how to format citations and footnotes in Chicago style. Contains a sample of a formatted paper.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Samples of common types of citations in Chicago style.
Chicago Style (Excelsior OWL)
Examples of citations using notes (e.g. footnotes) and bibliographies.

Turabian

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
Call Number: 378.2 T929m 2013
Available at the reserves desk in both libraries.

Turabian Quick Guide
Tips for formatting papers and citations in Turabian style.

Other Common Styles

American Anthropological Association Style Guide
This is the style guide required by the Department of Anthropology.

American Sociological Association Style Guide
Call Number: Linderman 2nd Floor Rotunda 808.027 A512a 2010
This is the style guide required by the Department of Sociology.

Quick Tips for ASA Style
Tip sheet written by the American Sociological Association.

Style Manual for Political Science by American Political Science Association (Prepared for Publication by) Since the last iteration of APSA's Style Manual for Political Science in 2006, the landscape of APSA journals has changed significantly. Many innovations and developments have occurred in the journal submission and review processes. Consequently, APSA decided to undertake a comprehensive revision of the Manual to reflect the standards of today's authors and manuscripts. Importantly, the Revised 2018 Edition of the Style Manual for Political Science expands and updates previous information to incorporate APSA's four member-wide journals: the American Political Science Review, PS: Political Science & Politics, Perspectives on Politics, and the Journal of Political Science Education, as well as the many organized section journals. The Manual itself walks authors through an easy-to-follow, step-by-step process: from manuscript preparation to submission. The sections include: manuscript preparation, manuscript writing (including punctuation and style), parenthetical citations, notes, tables and figures, and additional resources. The Manual acts as an umbrella submission guide; it is an excellent resource for authors writing without a journal in mind. The Manual contrasts with journal-specific style guidelines, which authors must still ultimately follow, but that have specifications not reflected in the larger Manual.
Call Number: Fairchild - 4th Floor - Reserve - Ask at Circ Desk
Publication Date: 2018

Citation Guides and Style Manuals

APA

Chicago

Turabian

Other Common Styles

Library and Technology Services

Connect with Us

Make a Gift