Library Guides: ESLP 001: Clarity and Accuracy in Writing: Finding Sources

Search Techniques

Find Books

Dictionaries

The Oxford English Dictionary by John Simpson (Editor); Edmund Weiner (Editor) Eighty years ago, the "greatest work in dictionary-making ever undertaken" was completed. And with its enormous range, unparalleled historical depth, detailed etymologies, and inexhaustible supply of illustrative quotations, it has enriched the lives of writers, readers, and word-lovers of all stripes ever since. Begun in 1857, published in ten volumes in 1928, subsequently revised and expanded to 20 volumes in 1989, and now adopted to the electronic age, the OED has become the most venerated and most beloved English-language reference ever compiled. The key feature of the OED, of course, is its unique historical focus. Accompanying each definition is a chronologically arranged group of quotations that illustrate the evolution of meaning from the word's first recorded usage and show the contexts in which it can be used. The quotations are drawn from a huge variety of sources--literary, scholarly, technical, popular-and represent authors as disparate as Geoffrey Chaucer and Erica Jong, William Shakespeare and Raymond Chandler, Charles Darwin and John Le Carre. In all, nearly 2.5 million quotations--illustrating over a half-million words--can be found in the OED. Other features distinguishing the entries in the dictionary are the most authoritative definitions, detailed information on pronunciation, variant spellings throughout each word's history, extensive treatment of etymology, and details of area of usage and of any regional characteristics (including geographical origins). A dictionary like no other in the world, the OED has been described as "among the wonders of the world of scholarship." Reflecting upon the Dictionary's 80 years, that statement is today more apt than it ever has been. Also available online at: www.oed.com
Call Number: Linderman 1st Floor - Reading Room - Reference 423 M982n 1989
Publication Date: 1989
The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language by American Heritage Dictionary Editors The much-anticipated Fifth Edition ofThe American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language is the premier resource about words for people who seek to know more and find fresh perspectives. Exhaustively researched and thoroughly revised, the Fifth Edition contains 10,000 new words and senses, over 4,000 dazzling new full-color images, and authoritative, up-to-date guidance on usage from the celebrated American Heritage® Usage Panel. In keeping with the American Heritage tradition of cutting-edge research, the Fifth Edition represents the work of a dedicated team of experts, scholars, and contributors. Thousands of definitions have been revised in rapidly changing fields such as astronomy and biology, geographical entries and maps have been completely updated, and the dictionary's signature feature notes on word history, synonymy, and language variation have been enhanced and improved. Trustworthy advice on controversies and conundrums in English usage is provided by the American Heritage Usage Panel, a group of 200 prominent users of the language. Under the leadership of Steven Pinker, preeminent researcher on language and the mind, the Panel passes judgment on both new and longstanding usage problems. No other dictionary offers such discerning and helpful guidance on issues of usage, grammar, and style. Word meanings are made easier to understand with thousands of new quotations from classic and contemporary writers. Etymologies explaining word origins and development have been newly created or revised to reflect the very latest scholarship. Many words are traced back to their roots in prehistory through two unique appendixes showing word roots in ancient Indo-European and Semitic. Reliable, enlightening, and visually stunning, the Fifth Edition ofThe American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Languagegives you the opportunity to make your mark in the best possible way.
Call Number: Linderman 1st Floor - Reading Room - Reference 423 A5122 2011
Publication Date: 2011

Find Articles

Characteristics:

Cover numerous topics
May contain multiple types of sources (e.g. popular, trade, scholarly)
Audience = educated readership

Examples:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
Upgraded from Academic Search Premier in 2019.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
The largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities. Search across more than 30 databases at one time. Full-text available. Includes newspapers, journals, popular magazines, trade publications and more.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
Covers 1987 - present.

Characteristics:

Pertain to a particular discipline
Often contain scholarly sources, known as peer-reviewed articles
Articles are written and reviewed by experts in the field
Academic audience
Showcase original research

Examples:

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Historical research about the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Full text access for all key English-language historical journals, also includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Also includes book and media reviews and abstracts of dissertations.

Lehigh History Databases

Characteristics:

Written by columnists
Audience = general public
Full of images

Examples:

Sports Illustrated
Vogue

ESLP 001: Clarity and Accuracy in Writing

Interlibrary Loan

Search Techniques

Find Books

Find Articles

Library and Technology Services

Connect with Us

Make a Gift