Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

BIOS 42: Introduction to Cell and Mol. Biology Lab: Find Scholarly Articles

Spring 2017, M. Kenna

Search For A Specific Article

Use the Citation Linker to see if Lehigh has access to a specific article.

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan to request a PDF of an article that isn't available at Lehigh or a scanned PDF of a print article that Lehigh owns. You will get an email when the article is ready for download.

Off Campus Access To Library Resources

Use Lehigh's Virtual Private Network (VPN)  to connect to library resources from off campus. Make sure to choose Library/International from the Group drop-down menu when you sign into the VPN. Learn more about the VPN.

(updated 7/24/2020)

Article Databases

Tips for finding scholarly articles

Library databases can help you locate articles published in scholarly journals. Such articles are typically "peer-reviewed". What is peer-review?

When using library databases to locate scholarly articles:

  • Be patient--searching for literature is an iterative process!
  • View the sample searches in the help links provided in library databases. This will help you craft a search. Use "and" to narrow your search, or "or" to broaden it.  Also, many databases use an asterisk as in bacter* to search on (bacteria or bacterial or bacterium) or use quote marks to search phrases ("ultraviolet light"). For details, check the help docs for databases you use.
  • To search Medline (PubMed), just put in search terms beside each other when you first do a search, with no other special search syntax, i.e., no punctuation, no quotation marks, no boolean operations
  • After finding a relevant article, see if the database gives you "cited by" links that lead you to articles, published later in time, that cite the article you like; this is a great way to find additional bibliography and possibly identify a scholarly debate that can be the focus of your project;
  • Look at the item’s own cited references;
  • If you do an article search and find a search result you like, look for a related/similar articles link;
  • See if the database enables you to filter for "review articles"; a good review article will give you an overview of a discipline, plus it will have good bibliography.
  • Author links that might bring up other articles by the same author(s).