Library Guides: History: Articles

Off Campus Access To Library Resources

Use Lehigh's Virtual Private Network (VPN) to connect to library resources from off campus. Make sure to choose Library/International from the Group drop-down menu when you sign into the VPN. Learn more about the VPN .

(updated 4/11/2024)

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Historical research about the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Full text access for all key English-language historical journals, also includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Also includes book and media reviews and abstracts of dissertations.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers publications including periodicals, book reviews, dissertations about the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding North America). Some full text available.
Covers materials published from 1971 to present.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
Upgraded from Academic Search Premier in 2019.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Covers journals, books, and working papers on economics providing citations for dissertations and articles in more than 620 collective volumes per year.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes important scholarly journals for the entire range of the humanities and social sciences topics published throughout the 20th century in North America and Europe.
Includes indexing of nearly 1,200 periodicals back to 1907.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals, beginning with the very first issue of each title. Primarily humanities and social sciences titles.
There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the content available through JSTOR. A broad range of disciplines are represented.
Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Offers over 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers.
Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Social sciences database that offers international coverage of subject areas including Political Science, Public Policy, Sociology, Education, Psychology, Economics, Linguistics, and Criminal Justice

Accessing Articles Without Full Text Through Lehigh Databases

Watch the video to learn about gaining full text access to articles using Unpaywall, Google Scholar, and interlibrary loan.

Search For A Specific Article

Use the Citation Linker to see if Lehigh has access to a specific article.

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan to request a PDF of an article that isn't available at Lehigh or a scanned PDF of a print article that Lehigh owns. You will get an email when the article is ready for download.

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

History

Off Campus Access To Library Resources

Databases for History Research

Accessing Articles Without Full Text Through Lehigh Databases

Search For A Specific Article

Interlibrary Loan