Statistical Databases
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowEasy access to demographic information about the U.S. Create custom maps and reports. Covers 1790 to present.
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowExtensive source of historical quantitative data about the U.S. in downloadable and customizable form.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowData on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market researcher, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowFull text of OECD Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. 1998 to present.
Important Overview
Important Statistical Resources on the Web
- U.S. Census Data This link opens in a new windowProvides access to US Census data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.
- Statistical AbstractAuthoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. For 2011+, consult the ProQuest Statistical Abstract (FM-2-DOC- R 317.3 U58sa).
- U.S. CensusContains statistical demographic and economic information about the United States population.
- A New Nation Votes:American Election returns from 1787-1825A New Nation Votes is a searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy. The data were compiled by Philip Lampi. The American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Digital Collections and Archives have mounted it online with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Selected Statistical Sources in Print
- Statistical Abstract of the United States. 317.3 U58s (Government Documents Reference area) Annual. Library has 1878-date.
- Statistical Yearbook. (UNESCO) 312.9 U589s FM Library. Most recent in Reference area. 1963-date. Data on education, culture, etc.
- World Almanac 317.3 W927 FM library, most recent in Reference. Library has 1886 - to present; a nearly complete run.
- Demographic Yearbook (UN)Call Number: EWFM Reference 312.058 D383 2011Population, vital and other statistics for many countries.
International Historical Statistics by Call Number: 316 M681i 2007ISBN: 0230005152Publication Date: 2007-12-15
State, Economy and Society in Western Europe, 1815-1975 by ISBN: 0912289066Publication Date: 1987-03-01
