Other Library collections
Lehigh's databases offer access to the full text of other electronically available books, primarily reference materials.
Digitized archival/historical texts
Lehigh also has many different digitized collections of historical materials, both in terms of early and/or rare books and of book-length materials related to Lehigh and local history. Below is a list of some of these collections.
Typically, purchasing eBooks is nearly as costly as buying a new copy of the print version. There are, however, quite a few resources on the open web where you can find free eBooks, particularly titles whose copyright has expired and now reside in the public domain.
HathiTrust - A partnership of academic and research institutions; offers a collection of millions of titles, most in public domain, digitized from libraries around the world.
Project Gutenberg - A digital library of free eBooks in the public domain. Most items are available to read online, as kindle files, and as EPUB files.
Bartleby - Publishes thousands of free online classics.
Archive.org - Offer over 8 million freely accessible eBooks.
Amazon*- Many public domain titles are available for free as Kindle or online reads. Try searching "free classics." You will need to sign in to an Amazon account to access these titles.
Google Books* - The world's most comprehensive database of digitized books, some of which have full-text access, and many of which have partial-text access.
(*While these can be great resources, please be aware that the quality of the digitized items can be poor.)