Skip to main content

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

Library Resources for Course Readings

Linking Articles within Course Site

You have article(s) you wish to have your class read. The libraries have a copyright-neutral solution—using Lehigh Links (SFX). The durable Link connects directly to the article in a library subscription journal from on or off campus.  You can also bookmark the Lehigh Link (SFX).  Use of SFX provides valuable use data to librarian collection managers!

A Lehigh Link may be posted to a course in Course Site, included in an e-mail or added to any HTML document. The link may be generated by using a research database such as Article First, Google Scholar or the Citation Linker. Almost all library resources, including RefWorks@Lehigh, are "SFX enabled."

It is preferable to use a research database since accurate, complete bibliographic data helps you to create a Lehigh Link more readily.  For additional help on creating Lehigh Links, contact your librarian or instructional technologist.

Directions for capturing Lehigh Links (SFX) for course readings:

  1. Go to a research database (for example, Article First, Web of Science and Knowledge or Research Library).  [NOTE:  Google Scholar may be used for this step but if off campus you will need to set your Scholar Preferences to Lehigh's library so that your results set shows Lehigh Links (SFX) when available. The information carried over from Scholar may or may not generate a functioning link. Another option is to use VPN: see box to left about off-campus access.]
  2. Search on the author’s last name, a keyword from the title and the year of publication.  When the correct citation is retrieved, click on hypertext "Lehigh Link" or an SFX icon.
  3. In the Lehigh Links (SFX) menu, if an electronic copy is available, it will show "In electronic full text" with at least one link to a digital copy.
  4. Next, click on that link or the "GO" icon to confirm that a digital copy is accessible and that the citation and the link match correctly. This is an important step to confirm that that the information provided does in fact link to the article desired.
  5. Copy the URL that appears in the footer of the Lehigh Link menu, just below the phrase "Link this in your CourseSite course."
  6. Paste the Lehigh Link (SFX) in your Course Site course readings bibliography.

Here is an example of a Lehigh Links (SFX).  Click on journal article title for the Lehigh Link.

El-Aasser, M S, R Hu, V L Dimonie, and L H Sperling. 1999. "Morphology, design and characterization of IPN-containing structured latex particles for damping applications". Colloids and Surfaces. A, Physicochemical and Engineering Aspects. 153 (1): 241.


Review Articles

"Review articles" can play an important role  as course reading assignments--or for students to use when they are doing research papers or projects. Such articles give a bird's eye view of the latest developments in a field or niche within a field. They can contain valuable bibliography.

The titles of these articles often have a more generic quality than the titles of  articles reporting very specific research findings. For example, compare these titles:

  • Current Approaches to Universal Vaccine Against Influenza Virus
  • Dual immunosensor based on methylene blue-electroadsorbed graphene oxide for rapid detection of the influenza A virus antigen

Contact your subject librarian for assistance in identifying review articles for your class.

Some databases, such as Web of Science or Medline, enable restriction of search results to "review" articles.

One source (among others!) of review articles is the following database, which is dedicated to this type of article. (Tip when using: sort the search results in descending date order so you see the most recent articles for your topic.)