Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Footnote and Citation Style Guides 

Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://libraryguides.lehigh.edu/styleguide  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Arts, Science, Social Sciences            Print Page
  
 

Table of Contents

 

Humanities Style Guide

The primary citation and bibliographic styles used in the Humanities are the MLA and Chicago styles. Instructors in the Humanities will often state their preference for the style they wish you to use so if in doubt, check with your instructor. The general guidelines for use of writing styles in the Humanities based on manuscript submission guidelines for major journals in the field are as follows:

  • MLA Style: English, MLL
  • Chicago Style: Art & Architecture, Classical Studies, History, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Theatre

The following online guides contain examples of Chicago and MLA formats:

The full print editions of these handbooks are available in the library:

MLA handbook for writers of research papers
808.02 M689ml
FM Reserves - Ask at Front Desk

The Chicago manual of style
655.25 C532ma
FM 1st Floor North - Ready Reference (nocirc)
FM 1st Floor North - Mini Linderman Reference Collection (nocirc)

9/05 km

 

Biochemistry, Biology, Biomedicine

BIOCHEMISTRY, BIOLOGY, BIOMEDICINE

Footnotes and Bibliography Series

Lehigh University Libraries


 

The Biochemistry and Biology (also, Molecular Biology) faculties acknowledge that styles of footnoting vary in these fields. If you are writing a paper for a course, check with the instructor to see what style is recommended or required. Another option is to follow the style used in a related professional journal. If you are submitting a paper to a journal, determine what style is recommended or required by that journal. Check the journal's website for author information.

If your subject relates to biomedical themes, see the notes below.

See the section of this guide for information about a software (EndNote), available at Lehigh, that enables you to store references and use them in writing papers. EndNote enables you to format papers automatically in any one of hundreds of styles.

Here are some notes about specific styles.

I. American Chemical Society Style

If you decide to use the American Chemical Society style, click here for information about it.

II. Styles for Biomedical Journals

For persons looking for a non-ACS style, specifically for biomedical journals, consider the following. These notes distill points provided by the National Library of Medicine in email correspondence; quotations below are from the correspondence (late 2006).

a. ICMJE Style

Around 500 biomed journals have committed to the ICMJE recommendations. See section IV. A.9 for some details about this style. See also "Journals that have Requested Inclusion on the List of Publications that follow the ICMJE's Uniform Requirements For Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals." (This list includes JAMA, BMJ, CMAJ, and The Lancet.)

b. National Library of Medicine Style

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) is a member of ICMJE, which follows the NLM's MEDLINE/Pubmed format "with some small variations". MEDLINE is a major bibliographic database for medical literature and is available via PubMed. For information about the MEDLINE/Pubmed format, see here. Other details provided by NLM:

"Check the NLM article MEDLINE®/PubMed® Journal Article Citation Format at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/policy/cit_format.html . Also, the NLM has produced two publications to assist writers and editors in formatting bibliographic citations:

- Patrias, Karen. National Library of Medicine recommended formats for bibliographic citation. Bethesda (MD): The Library; 1991 Apr. [A subsequent email indicated that 'the 1991 Recommended Formats publication is available free in PDF from our Web site - http://nlm.nih.gov/pubs/formats/recommendedformats.html ' ][See also at that webpage Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation. Internet Supplement. 2001 ] ]

This publication contains citation formats and examples for 12 categories of published material: journals, books, conference publications, technical reports, dissertations and theses, bibliographies, patents, newspaper articles, maps, legal materials, audiovisuals, and electronic formats such as online and CD-ROM. Unpublished material such as "in press" items and personal communications are covered as well. You can purchase it in paper or pdf format from NTIS at http://www.ntis.gov/. It is publication number PB91-182030.

- Patrias, Karen. National Library of Medicine recommended formats for bibliographic citation. Supplement: Internet formats. Bethesda (MD): The Library; 2001 Jul.

This publication contains recommendations for citing all types of material found on the Internet, including homepages, books, journal articles, and e-mail messages, and provides many examples illustrating the recommendations. It is available for free in pdf format on the NLM Web site at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/formats/internet.pdf

A new updated publication called, Citing Medicine , will be available on the Web soon." [Subsequent email mentioned that "there is a Web site for Citing Medicine - http://www.nlm.nih.gov/citingmedicine - which we expect to be available in the Spring". See that webpage for further details.]

c. Other Styles for Biomedical Journals

Other styles that biomedical journals use are:

Scientific Style and Format (Council of Science Editors) ["The new 7th edition of Scientific Style and Format has a Bibliography that contains a comprehensive list 'of style manuals, dictionaries, and other writing aids...Chapter 29 also has a section on details of formatting references within the text (name-year, etc.)."]

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association [see information at Lehigh's Footnote and Citation Style Guides webpage.]

The ACS Style Guide (American Chemical Society) [see here for information]


Last updated: 1/8/07
 

Chemistry

American Chemical Society Style

 

For some examples of ACS style that are available online, see this webpage from Williams College Libraries.

However, for full details, consult the following.

The ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information. Third Edition. 2006.

It is available for use on a non-circulating basis in Fairchild-Martindale Library in the "Ready Reference" area right behind the help desk on first floor north at 808.066 A512a 2006.

See Chapter 14, “References”: “This chapter presents style conventions for citing references within a manuscript and for listing complete reference citations.” Other chapters concern a wide variety of topics-- just for example: “Ethics in Scientific Communication”, "The Editorial Process" (inclu. an appendix about "Proofreaders' Marks"), “Electronic Submission of Manuscripts Using Web-Based Systems”, “Peer Review”, “Copyright Basics”, “Names and Numbers for Chemical Compounds”.

  

 


10/08/08 Brian Simboli

 

 

 

Physics

PHYSICS DEPARTMENT STYLE GUIDE

Footnote and Bibliography Series
Lehigh University Libraries


The Physics Department recommends that students follow the style of the journals produced by the AIP (American Institute of Physics) such as Physical Review and American Journal of Physics Current issues of these journals are located in the Current Periodicals floor of the South Wing of the Fairchild-Martindale Library. They are in alphabetical order in the Science section.
 

The American Journal of Physics has a page entitled "Information for Contributors," which gives more details about style. It also refers one to the style manual of the AIP, but, currently, the library does not have a copy.
 

When submitting a paper for publication, always consult the journal to which the paper is being submitted for that journal's particular style.
 

Following are some basic examples found on page 28 of the January, 1993 issue of American Journal of Physics. Consult this journal for wider variations and exceptions. These examples are exact and may not make sense out of context, but were chosen to illustrate common citations. This journal uses the "endnote" style which means that the footnote does not appear at the bottom of the page where the footnote superscript appears, but rather at the end of the article in place of a reference list or bibliography.


EXAMPLES OF CITATIONS WITHIN THE TEXT:
 

...and while more details may be found in certain treatises on
   atomic physics1,2 

or,

The momentum-space wave functions for hydrogen were derived by
Podolsky and Pauling5 in the early years of quantum mechanics
with the aid of....



EXAMPLES OF ENDNOTES CORRESPONDING TO THE ABOVE EXAMPLES:

NOTE: Book titles should be italicized. Note punctuation exactly. There is no space between the superscript and the first initial of the author. Journal titles are abbreviated using standardized abbreviation form, but not italicized or underlined or in bold (use normal type). Volume number is in bold, other numbers are not.
 

1H.A. Bethe and E.E. Salpeter, Quantum Mechanics of One-
     and Two-Electron Atoms (Springer-Verlag, Berlin, 1957).


2B.H. Bransden and C.J. Joachain, Physics of Atoms and Molecules (Longman, London, 1983).

5B. Podolsky and L. Pauling, "The momentum distribution in hydrogen-like atoms," Phys. Rev. 34, 109-116 (1929).


 

 


Last updated: Tuesday, 06-Aug-2002 15:17:32 EDT
 

Anthropology

ANTHROPOLOGY STYLE GUIDE

Footnote and Bibliography Series
Lehigh University Libraries


The Department of Sociology and Anthropology suggests:

2009 AAA Style GuideThe American Anthropological Assoc. Style Guide. The AAA Style Guide was revised in July 2009 and is now available for download below. This replaces the previous style guide, which was released in 2003.

AAA uses The Chicago Manual of Style (15th edition, 2003) and Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary (11th edition, 2006). This guide is an outline of style rules basic to our journal editing. Where no rule is present in this guide, follow Chicago. In Webster’s, use the first spelling if there is a choice and use American (rather than British) spellings. T

 Folllow this link to download the PDF file. AAA Style Guide

Other suggestions include:

Citations & Bibliographic Style for Anthropologists ( U. of South Dakota)

The major journals,  American Ethnologist or American Anthropologist use the AAA Style Guide format.  You can find current editions  in the Fairchild-Martindale Library, 2nd floor, South Wing, on the west side of the room in alphabetical order in the Social Sciences. Back issues are found at call number 305 A5123 and 572.06 A51, respectively.
 
 
 

9/02 -rb  10/09 -rb
 

 


Last updated: Tuesday, 06-Aug-2002 15:17:32 EDT
 

Political Science

POLITICAL SCIENCE STYLE GUIDE


The Political Science Department recommends the Chicago Manual of Style as the source for footnoting and bibliographic style.  The manual is available in Fairchild or Linderman Library Reference, 655.25 C532ma 1993. The online Writers Handbook has a section on the Chicago Style which you may find useful.

It is also recommended that you consult with your professor for their preferred style.

When submitting an article for publication, consult the Manuscript Submission Guidelines of the particular journal to which you wish to submit as journals vary as to their preferred style. These guidelines are generally located in the editorial pages.

For additional resources consult:

Citing Sources: Duke University Guide  Includes examples of Chicago, APA, MLA and Turabian styles.

Footnoting Electronic Sources in the Chicago Style

Chicago Manual of Style Print versions available in the Reference Collections of both Linderman and Fairchild Library. Older editions also available in the circulating collection. Call number 808 U58m 
 

09/02 rb 10/09 rb
 

 


Last updated: Tuesday, 06-Aug-2002 15:17:32 EDT
 

International Relations

INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS STYLE GUIDE


The International Relations Department recommends the following:

  1. Consult with your professor for their preferred footnoting and bibliographic style.
  2. Use the Chicago Manual of Style  which is locate in Fairchild or Linderman Library Reference Collection,  655.25 C532ma 1993. The online Writers Handbook has a section on the Chicago Style which you might find useful.
  3. Use the style of one of the scholarly journals in this field, such as Journal of International Affairs. Current Copies may be found in the Fairchild-Martindale Library, 2nd floor, South Wing. They are listed alphabetically in the Social Sciences area of the Current Periodicals section. Back issues may be found at 341.05 C726.
  4. When submitting a manuscript for publication, consult the journal to which you are submitting for their preferred style.

For additional resources consult:

Citing Sources: Duke University Guide  Includes examples of Chicago, APA, MLA and Turabian styles.

Footnoting Electronic Sources in the Chicago Style

Chicago Manual of Style Print versions available in the Reference Collections of both Linderman and Fairchild Library. Older editions also available in the circulating collection. Call number 808 U58m 
 

9/02 rb  10/09 rb


Last updated: Wednesday, 30-Oct-2002 13:47:12 EDT
 

Psychology

PSYCHOLOGY STYLE GUIDE


The APA Style Manual (Full title: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed.) is a manual for use by authors in the fields of Psychology and Education.

The APA Publication Manual  is located at the following places:

  • Reference area of Fairchild Martindale Library, 1st Floor North (non circulating) 808.02 A512p ed.6 2010  
  • Farichild Martindale Reserves - Ask at the circulation desk for the reserves copy 
  • Linderman Library reference area - 1st Floor Reading Room (non circulating)

Use the following links to find further information and examples of the APA style (note the versions referenced in these guides):

Try using RefWorks, Your Online Research Management, Writing and Collaboration Tool

11/99 rb; 10/01 jj  9/02 rb; 4/08 th; 8/10 bds
 

 


Last updated: Monday, 07-Apr-2008 10:55:12 EDT
 

Sociology

SOCIOLOGY STYLE GUIDE

Footnote and Bibliography Series
Lehigh University Libraries


The Department of Sociology and Anthropology  suggests the following  guide when writing sociology papers:

Use the American Sociological Association Style Guide format  . 

For additional resources see:

Formatting in Sociology (Purdue U. Writing Lab)

ASA Style Guide. Provides the style and publication guidelines of the American Sociological Association.

Linderman Library - 808.027 A512a

 

 

 

 

9/02 - rb  10/09 rb
 

 


Last updated: Wednesday, 30-Oct-2002 13:47:12 EDT
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait