This is the "Home" page of the "SSP 105: Social Origins of Terrorism" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SSP 105: Social Origins of Terrorism   Tags: terrorist terrorism  

Use this quick guide to find information on Terrorist Groups for your class project
Last Updated: Dec 19, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.lehigh.edu/SSP105 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

US Naval War College Guide

The library of the U.S. Naval War College has assembled an extensive guide to resources on terrorist groups.

Follow this link to explore the resources. Some of the materials they list are accessible only to the Naval War college community.

http://usnwc.libguides.com/TerroristGroups

 

Databases for articles and reports

Homeland Security Digital Library
HSDL collection provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies.
Columbia International Affairs Online CIAO
Produced by Columbia University this online service not only indexes but often includes full text of working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, journal articles, book chapters, case studies, and policy briefs.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes  over 1000 journals in political science and international relations.  Look for the "Lehigh Links/SFX" button to connect to full text (when available).
Historical Abstracts
Indexes journals with a historical focus, coverage is of the world, excluding North America. This database includes significant coverage of political history. . It has an interesting feature that allows you to focus your search on a historical period. Use this brief tutorial to learn how to use this time period feature.  The tutorial will also demonstrate the use of the SFX/Lehigh Links technology to locate full text of the articles you identify as useful.
Research Library
Research Library indexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers. Look for the "Lehigh Links/SFX" button to connect to full text (when available)
Sociological Abstracts
The Sociological Abstracts database covers research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides citations and abstracts to articles in over 1,500 journals and other materials such as conference papers, books and dissertations. The database indexes materials dating back to 1963 with abstracts added from 1974.
 

Web Site Evaluation Checklist

Using a website as a resource in a research or academic paper can be tricky unless you follow a few guidelines. Since anyone can publish on the web without any review or evaluation it is up to you to examine websites critically. You want to be alert to the accuracy, authority, objectivity or bias of your resources. This checklist can help you determine if the website is a source your professors would find acceptable.

Criteria to examine are listed below. Look at the sites you are considering as sources and review this list of questions. The more positive responses you generate to these criteria, the more confident you can be about the value and authenticity of these websites.

Authorship & Authority

  • Is the author of the website identified?
  • Does the author have credentials that would be considered authoritative on this topic? What makes them experts?
  • If a sponsoring organization is responsible for the content of the website can you determine their authority in relationship to the topic? What is the source of their credibility?
  • Is there a way to contact the author or sponsoring organization? Ideally the site should provide an email address and phone number as well as a street and city mailing address.

Accuracy

  • Is there a bibliography or list of sources on which the stated information is based? Do they list sources you could use to clarify or verify the assertions being made?
  • If there are charts or statistics used in the website, are they clear and are the sources for this data cited?
  • Is the website written without grammatical and spelling errors?
  • Do the links included on the website work?
  • Are the links out to remote sites relevant to the topic?

Objectivity and Purpose

  • Does the website include a statement of purpose? Can you tell if they are trying to persuade, educate, inform, sell a product, or provide entertainment?
  • Some websites are advocacy sites, promoting a particular position. If so can you find a clear statement of their mission?
  • If there is advertising content on the website is it clear which information is factual and which is part of the promotional material? Are the sources for the facts cited?
  • Does the website provide balanced information that shows both sides of an issue?
  • Is the writing clear and appropriate, avoiding inflammatory statements or tirades?

Currency of the website

  • Does the site provide a date of publication or date of the latest revision?

My Profile

Profile Image
Roseann Bowerman
Contact Info
Social Sciences Librarian
Fairchild Martindale Library
Room 613 (Mart wing, 3rd Floor)
Office: 610- 758-3053
rb04@lehigh.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip