Top Tips for Strong Research
- Start organized: use a system to document your research. Use a citation manager, like RefWorks or Zotero.
- Perform background research
- Search through, read, and reference a variety of information source types (articles, books, standards, technical reports, etc.)
- Ask for help: avoid costly time delays by asking for help early.
Engineering Librarian
Best Bet Resources for Research in Energy Systems Engineering
Technical Reports
- OSTI.gov This link opens in a new windowReplacing SciTech Connect, OSTI.gov is a search tool from the Dept. of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information. It includes citations and some full text of journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata, technical reports, scientific research datasets and collections, scientific software, patents, conference and workshop papers, books and theses, and multimedia funded by DOE through a grant, contract, cooperative agreement, or similar type of funding mechanism from the 1940s to today.
- National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) This link opens in a new windowServes as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available
Journal Articles and Conference Proceedings
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowHelps find current articles that cite earlier work. Covers STEM, social sciences, & arts and humanities. Has an emerging sources citation index. Useful for identifying review articles Note: Web of Science generally does not include conference proceedings in search results.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowElectrical, electronic, and computer engineering journals and conferences from the IEEE and IET; full text. Also includes IEEE standards.
Books and eBooks
- ASA, Lehigh Libraries' CatalogSearch for books, ebooks, and more in the Lehigh Libraries' catalog, ASA. You can also access the catalog via lts.lehigh.edu
Theses and Dissertations
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global: Science & Technology This link opens in a new windowScience and Technology subset of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global - the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Indexing, abstracts and select full-text coverage. Searching in Chinese and other languages may be needed for high recall searching.
News
- Energy Central Professional This link opens in a new windowAccess to curated newsfeeds and databases on the energy industry. Energy industry databases include: Investor Owned Utility, M&A, and Power Plant. Unlimited accounts - request from the Engineering Librarian or service@energycentral.com
- New York Times and Games Add-on (Mobile Apps and Site Access) This link opens in a new windowLink to instructions for registering for access. Users can also register for both the New York Times and Games mobile apps, the latter of which includes the full NYT Crossword, Spelling Bee, and more. On campus or VPN-connected Lehigh users can access the website without registering.
- Financial Times This link opens in a new windowUK and international business, finance, economic and political news, comment and analysis. Note: Users must register using their Lehigh University email address. You must sign into this resource by using the Subscribe option in the upper-right-hand corner of the screen while on campus or connected to the VPN from off-campus. Then click on the Join Now button to enter your information and preferences.
- Economist (current) This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science, and technology. Get access to the current edition as well as previous editions dating back to July 1997.
- Wall Street Journal (Mobile App and Site Access) This link opens in a new windowInstructions for registering for a Lehigh-sponsored Wall Street Journal account, which provides unlimited access to content via the website and mobile app. The pass must be renewed annually.
- Washington Post (site access) This link opens in a new windowUnlimited digital access to the Washington Post, a leading daily U.S. newspaper based in Washington D.C.
Important Services!
Find more information about these important services on this page:
InterLibrary Loan (below)
LTS Help Desk (below)
Research Assistance (left-hand column)
Off-campus Access to Resources (below)
InterLibrary Loan: Articles, Books, etc.
- InterLibrary Loan (ILL)InterLibrary Loan allows Lehigh Library users to borrow books, articles, and more from other institutions. There are two options for InterLibrary Loan: PALCI, for requesting books, and ILLiad, for requesting articles and other materials.
- ILLiad Registration TutorialThis brief tutorial will guide you in registering for an Interlibrary Loan account through ILLiad.
LTS Help Desk
- LTS Help DeskGeneral information about the Library & Technology Services (LTS) Help desk, including service hours, services provided, and contact information.
Off Campus Access To Library Resources
Use Lehigh's Virtual Private Network (VPN) to connect to library resources from off campus. Make sure to choose Library/International from the Group drop-down menu when you sign into the VPN. Learn more about the VPN.
(updated 4/11/2024)