Primary Source Databases and Websites
Finding Primary Sources in the popular literature of the day: You may be able to find articles, speeches, and personal accounts that qualify as primary sources in the magazines, newspapers and popular literature of the day. Lehigh's library also makes available a significant number of online sources that provide the searchable full text of historic materials and publications. Some of these resources are for use by the Lehigh Community only. Be sure to look at the Newspaper tab in this guide for other resources.
- Digitised Historical Parliamentary MaterialPublished Parliamentary material has been digitised and made available on the Internet by various organisations. This page produced by the UK Parliament is a directory to published Parliamentary material which as been digitized.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowContains images of nearly every work printed in the British Isles and North America from 1470-1700, as well as works in English printed elsewhere. Includes transcriptions of about 50% of texts.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowDigital access to nearly 150,000 items including books, broadsides, Bibles, tract books and sermons and printed ephemera and includes works by many well-known and lesser-known authors published between 1701 and 1800.
- Europeana(from the European Union) "Europeana offers a journey through time, across borders, and into new ideas of what our culture is. More than that, it will connect people to their history..."
- Internet Library of Early Journalsa joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford, conducted under the auspices of the eLib (Electronic Libraries) Programme. Contains 20 year consecutive runs of 6 British journals, 3 from the 18th Century and 3 from the 19th Century.
- World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.