Finding Relevant Information - TE 211: Capstone Design Projects - 1

Research Databases

Business
Engineering

This is a short list of research databases. Note that there are two tabs within this box: one for Business, and one for Engineering.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business and Management article source, featuring peer-reviewed journals, newspapers, and trade publications.
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Please note: MarketLine Advantage is now Global Data Explorer.
Covers: 30,000+ companies, 3,500+ Industry Profiles, 110 Country Profiles and Country Statistics Database covering 215 countries, Annual coverage of 50,000+ financial deals
Statista This link opens in a new window
Data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market researcher, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
Database from LexisNexis® featuring more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Primarily in English but some foreign language news as well.
EDGAR This link opens in a new window
Real-time access to SEC-registered company filings.
EDGAR consists of the full-text electronic filings of U.S. public domestic corporations' financial statements to the Securities and Exchange Commission. Filings can be searched by company name, by EDGAR CIK (central index key), or by form (10-Q, 10-K, 13-G, etc.).

This is a short list of research databases. Note that there are two tabs within this box: one for Business, and one for Engineering

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.
(Note: To maximize access to Lehigh resources, when in Google Scholar, go to Settings, then Library links, then type in Lehigh University. If we do not subscribe to an article, this setting will enable a Lehigh Link to obtain the article via interlibrary loan.)
Links to PDFs when available; excellent for finding specific articles or books.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Helps find current articles that cite earlier work. Covers STEM, social sciences, & arts and humanities. Has an emerging sources citation index. Useful for identifying review articles Note: Web of Science generally does not include conference proceedings in search results.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Major resource for chemistry research. Many capabilities it provides includes searching chemical literature, plus substance, reaction, structure searching, and property searching. Set up instructions can be found here.
PatBase Express This link opens in a new window
Powerful tool for searching and analyzing patents. See the "Help" section for information, including an overview video. Links to the ASA catalog record. Login to view the shared usernames and passwords. Contact the Engineering Librarian for assistance.
The above link redirects you to a page that lists the usernames and passwords for PatBase Express. The site for logging in directly is https://patbase.com/express
Contact Phil Hewitt - pjh315 | 8-3068 - with any questions.

SciTech Background Information Sources

Access Science This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia and dictionary for the sciences. Includes biographies, images and animations, and videos.
Annual Reviews Online This link opens in a new window
Suite of journals in science, engineering, and social sciences publishing only review articles, which provide extensive overviews of current research.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
Chemical processes: discovery/invention, properties, production techniques, economics, environment, regulation. Includes extensive bibliographies

eBooks and Books for Background Information

Why Use eBooks/Books

Good for in-depth background information.
You don't have to read the whole book! Search within eBooks to find where a specific keyword is mentioned.
Use glossaries, indexes, Table-of-Contents and other features to quickly scan for relevance.
Check bibliographies/references for mentions of other important works.

How to Find eBooks/Books

Use the online catalog, ASA, to search for books and eBooks. A search box is below.
Use eBrary or other eBook providers from the A-to-Z Database List to complete more in-depth searching.

Interlibrary Loan Books through PALCI E-Z Borrow - see http://library.lehigh.edu/ill for a link and brief instructions.

Review Articles

Review articles give a bird's eye view of a field or niche within a field. They can also contain useful bibliographies/works cited lists. Library research databases often allow you to limit search results to only include review articles. Scopus and Web of Science are two examples of research databases that allow for this functionality.

One publisher, Annual Reviews, publishes only review articles. Try searching their Web platform (listed below) for your topic.

Annual Reviews Online This link opens in a new window
Suite of journals in science, engineering, and social sciences publishing only review articles, which provide extensive overviews of current research.

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

TE 211: Capstone Design Projects - 1: Finding Relevant Information

Research Databases

Other Information Sources and Helpful Links

SciTech Background Information Sources

eBooks and Books for Background Information

Review Articles