Colonial and Early U.S. Newspapers in Microform
Many newspapers of historical and research value are kept in microform in Fairchild Martindale Library's microform area, 2nd Floor, Mart Wing. Note that there are gaps in the coverage of some newspapers.
There is a collection of Colonial and Early U.S. newspapers which includes the following titles:
American Weekly Mercury 1719-1746
Boston Daily Globe (Boston) Jan 1, 1877 - Dec 31, 1877
Boston Evening Post (Boston) Aug 1735 - Apr 1775
Boston Gazette (Boston) 1719 - 1742
Boston Transcript (Boston) Jan 1848 - Dec 1872
Connecticut Gazette Oct 1778 - Dec 1820
Daily American (Harrisburg) Dec 1850 - Mar 1854
Daily Madison (Washington City) Dec 1841 - Apr 1845
Daily National Intelligencer (Washington DC) July 1828 - Jan 1861
The Daily Union (Washington DC) May 1845 - Dec 1856
Daily Telegraph (Washington DC) Dec 1978 - Oct 1979
Dauphin Guardian (Harrisburg,Pa) 1805 - 1811
Democratic State Journal 1835 - 1840
Democratic Union (Harrisburg) 1843 - 1848
Democratic Union/Harrisburg Argus Various
Washington Union (Washington DC) Jan 1857 - June 1858
Evening Bulletin (Philadelphia) Jan 1877 - May 1878
Evening Journal (Jersey City, NJ) Jan 1877 - Dec 1877
Federal Gazette Oct 1788 - Oct 1793
Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper Dec 1855 - Dec 1899
Georgia Gazette Apr 1763 - Feb 1775
The Royal Georgia Gazette 1779 - 1781
The Globe (Washington DC) Dec 1830 - Apr 1845
Harrisburg Chronicle (Harrisburg) May 1813 - Jun 1840
The Pennsylvanian (Harrisburg) Jan 1824 - Jan 1825
Harrisburg Daily Telegraph Jan 1840 - Oct 1858
Harrisburg Morgenrothe Zeitung 1804 - 1840
Harrisburg Morning Herald Mar 1854 - Aug 1858
Keystone (Harrisburg) Sept 1853 - Aug 1858
Harrisburg Keystone (Harrisburg) Jun 1839 - May 1843
Madisonian (Washington City) Aug 1837 - Dec 1841
Maryland Gazette (Annapolis) Dec 1728 - Dec 1839
New-Hampshire Gazette Oct 1756 - Jan 1776
New-London Gazette Nov 1763 - Oct 1778
New York Gazette 1726 - 1741/1744
New York Journal & The General Advocate July 1777 - Jan 1782
New-York Mercury 1752 - 1779
New-York Weekly Journal (New York) Nov 1733 - Dec 1749
Oracle Of Dauphin (Harrisburg) Nov 1792 - Nov 1827
Patriot And Union Jan 1859 - Dec 1865
Pennsylvania & Harrisburg Weekly Telegraph July 1855 - Jan 1861
Pennsylvania Daily Telegraph (Harrisburg) Oct 1858 - Jan 1866
Pennsylvania Intelligencer (Harrisburg) Dec 1820 - Apr 1837
Pennsylvania Journal Dec 1742 - Aug 1793
Penn. Reporter & Democratic Herald (Harrisburg) Nov 1827 - Mar 1839
Pennsylvania Reporter Mar 1839 - June 1843
Pennsylvanische Staats Zeitung 1844 -1853
Pennsylvania Telegraph (Harrisburg) Sept 1831 - July 1855
Philadelphia Gazette & Universal Daily Advertiser Oct 1793 - Dec 1802
Providence Gazette Oct 1762 - Oct 1825
Royal Gazette (New York) Nov 1777 - Aug 1779
Royal Gazette (South Carolina) 1781 - 1782
San Francisco Chronicle Jan 1877 - Dec 1877
South Carolina Gazette 1732 - 1780
South Carolina Gazette & Country Journal 1765 - 1775
Charleston Gazette 1778 - 1780
South Carolina & American Gazette 1764 - 1769
South Carolina & American General Gazette 1769 - 1781
Royal South Carolina Gazette 1780 - 1782
Royal Gazette 1781
State Capitol Gazette (Harrisburg?) Jun 1841 - Nov 1847
United States Telegraph (Washington DC) Feb 1826 - Feb 1837
Washington Union (Washington DC) July 1858 - Apr 1859
World (N.Y.) 1912 -1914
Virginia Gazette of Williamsburg (Williamsburg) Sept 1736 - Dec 1780
Virginia Gazette Or Norfolk Intelligencer Jun 1774 - Sept 1775
20th Century Newspapers in Microform
These newspapers in microform are located in Fairchild Martindale Library, 2nd floor, Mart Wing.
Bethlehem Globe Times (earlier titles and successor titles, Express Times) -
Film: Oct. 28, 1867 - 1997 (Earlier titles: Bethlehem Daily Times, Globe, Daily Globe, Bethlehem Globe are all filed under Bethlehem Globe Times.)
No indexing is available at Lehigh. However the Bethlehem Public Library has created an in-house index to the coverage of Bethlehem.They have been maintaining this indexing periodically. Their indexing covers 1897-1912, 1966-
Pittsburgh Courier Film: 1928-1997
Times (London) Film: 1914-
(Online availability: Lexis-Nexis Academic 1990-, Palmers Index 1800-1890 )
Indexing includes: Palmer's Index to the Times 1790-1905 Official Index to the Times. An online index from 1906 to 1980 can be accessed from the Palmers Index site...change to the Official Index on the search page. Other indexing includes MicroFilm: 1937-1955, and Printed Indexes in FM-2 South, Index section, 1957-1997
Wall Street Journal Film: 1928-
(Online availability: Lexis-Nexis Academic Contains abstracts from May 1, 1973 and selected full text from 1996 onward.)
Print Indexing: The Wall Street Journal Index, FM-2-South, Index section (071 W187i)1958-1999
Washington Post Film: 1980-2004
(Online availability: Lexis-Nexis Academic 1977-)
- NexisUni This link opens in a new windowDatabase from LexisNexis® featuring more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Primarily in English but some foreign language news as well.
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window"Historical Newspapers contains four major historical resources:
Palmer's Index to the Times which covers the period from 1790 to 1905 in The Times; The Official Index to the Times which takes the coverage forward from 1906 to 1980; The Historical Index to the New York Times which covers The New York Times from 1851 to September 1922; Palmer's Full Text Online, 1785-1870, providing access to the full articles referenced in Palmer's index to the Times"
Microform
