Scholarly vs. Popular
(Image from Randolph Community College Library)
Why articles?
Articles are shorter works, usually between 1 and 35 pages, that are about a specific topic. Use articles to:
- support your argument in a research paper
- learn who is doing research in your area
- stay up-to-date with the most current research
You will use library databases to find journal articles. Most professors will ask that you use scholarly articles. You search for articles in Databases.
Find Articles
Characteristics:
- Cover numerous topics
- May contain multiple types of sources (e.g. popular, trade, scholarly)
- Audience = educated readership
Examples:
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
- NexisUni This link opens in a new windowDatabase from LexisNexis® featuring more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Primarily in English but some foreign language news as well.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowThe largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities. Search across more than 30 databases at one time. Full-text available. Includes newspapers, journals, popular magazines, trade publications and more.
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
View the video below for tips on searching for articles.
Characteristics:
- Pertain to a particular discipline
- Often contain scholarly sources, known as peer-reviewed articles
- Articles are written and reviewed by experts in the field
- Academic audience
- Showcase original research
Examples:
- Sociology Collection This link opens in a new windowSociology and social services database with access to Sociological Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index Abstracts, and the Sociology Database with full-text coverage.