Library Guides: ASIA 090: Globalization in Asia through Time and Space: Articles

Use Databases to Find Articles on Your Topic

What is a database?

Databases are collections of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers that you can search by subject, topic, names, and more. Lehigh has lots of databases that are organized by subject. Click on one of the databases listed below or check our A-Z Database List to see all of the available options.

What is a scholarly article?

Scholarly articles, which can be found in our databases, meet these criteria:

Written by a scholar/expert in the field
Contains original research - new information or arguments about a subject
Peer reviewed - another expert has read the article to check their research

Look for words like research, study, data, survey, statistical, or other research-related words in the article's abstract. If in doubt, ask a librarian!

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan to request a PDF of an article that isn't available at Lehigh or a scanned PDF of a print article that Lehigh owns. You will get an email when the article is ready for download.

Article Databases

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals, beginning with the very first issue of each title. Primarily humanities and social sciences titles.
There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the content available through JSTOR. A broad range of disciplines are represented.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers.
Upgraded from Academic Search Premier in 2019.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography, described below, plus full text from more than 1000 journals. Covers topics in literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Provides over one million citations for items from journals and series published worldwide. Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
It includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which provides full information on more than 4,000 journals and series from 1926 to the present.
ARTStor This link opens in a new window
Database of digital images that may be used for academic purposes only. These collections are interdisciplinary, supporting research and teaching in both the humanities and social sciences.
ARTstor also contains images and collections relevant to African and African-American Studies, American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Classics, Costume Design & Fashion, Geography, History, Language & Literature, Latin American Studies, Marketing, Medicine & Natural Sciences, Middle Eastern Studies, Music, Native American Studies, Religious Studies, Theatre & Dance, and Women’s Studies. Through ARTstor, one can search, organize & save, download, or create presentations. Further privileges can be granted to those with instructor status.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
Project MUSE: Scholarly Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Offers over 250 journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers.
Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Part of Web of Science, this database is an index to articles in the arts and the humanities.
Coverage from 1982 to the present. Links to PDFs when available.
China Academic Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text of China Academic Journals (CAJ) from 1994 to 2022 for the series covering Literature/History/Philosophy (Series F), Politics/Military Affairs/Law (Series G), and Education/Social Sciences (Series H) components of the CNKI database. Database is searchable in both English and Chinese.
Link to title lists: https://www.eastview.com/resources/title-lists/

Lehigh University Libraries - Library Guides

ASIA 090: Globalization in Asia through Time and Space: Articles

Use Databases to Find Articles on Your Topic

Interlibrary Loan

Article Databases