This is the "Home" page of the "History 197 - Introduction to Latin American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History 197 - Introduction to Latin American Studies  

This guide will direct you to basic resources for successfully locating articles, books and other information you'll need to complete your class projects.
Last Updated: Aug 9, 2010 URL: http://libraryguides.lehigh.edu/History197 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

I need to find books on my topic

 Use this quick search box to search for books at Lehigh.

Keyword Browse Exact
Basic Search
Advanced Search
Call Number Browse

ASA, Lehigh's online catalog is the tool for finding books, journals, websites, DVDs and other material available from Lehigh's libraries. Because the records in ASA  are often brief they work best for searches by Author, Title and important subjects or keywords. ASA contains records for books and records with links directly to many full text journals, websites and research databases.

 

I need to find:

Scholarly articles from academic journals

Historical Abstracts  ****
Indexes journals with a historical focus, coverage is of the world, excluding the United States and Canada. It has an interesting feature that allows you to focus your search on a historical period. Use this brief tutorial to learn how to use this time period feature. The tutorial will also demonstrate the use of the SFX/Lehigh Links technology to locate full text of the articles you identify as useful.
JSTOR
Jstor: The Scholarly Journal Archive contains the full text of scholarly journals, beginning with the very first issue of each title. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the content available through JSTOR. You may choose to search the full text (every word) in any or all of the disciplines presented on the search page."

Research Library
Research Library indexes, abstracts and provides selective full-text for a broad spectrum of magazines, journals and newspapers. Look for the "Lehigh Links/SFX" button to connect to full text (when available)

Articles from specific disciplines other than History

Art Index Retrospective    ****
Art Index Retrospective allows users to search 55 years of art journalism. Users can research leading English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Besides periodicals, users have access to data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins. Art Index Retrospective helps users find contemporary criticism of art, artist's interviews and other commentary. AIR includes indexing of art reproductions as well as coverage of fine, decorative and commercial art.

ATLA: Religion Index
Comprehensive database indexing religious and theological subjects from U.S. and international journals. Includes book reviews and indexing of books of collected essays and other multiauthor works. Citations only.

Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts database covers research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides citations and abstracts to articles in over 1,500 journals and other materials such as conference papers, books and dissertations. The database indexes materials dating back to 1963 with abstracts added from 1974. Examples of subjects covered include: community development, social structure, demography, human biology, family and social welfare, sociology of health, medicine and law, women�s studies, social psychology and group interactions.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes over 1000 journals with a focus on political affairs. Look for the "Lehigh Links/SFX" button to connect to full text (when available).


Magazine and Popular Literature as primary sources

Readers Guide Retrospective   ****

Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. It covers 1890 to 1982. While not a full text database, materials indexed can frequently be found in the library's print or microform collection

 

Items with the red asterisks **** were demonstrated in the class session.

My Profile

Profile Image
Roseann Bowerman
Contact Info
Social Sciences Librarian
Fairchild Martindale Library
Room 613 (Mart wing, 3rd Floor)
Office: 610- 758-3053
rb04@lehigh.edu
Send Email
 

eHRAF

Human Relations Area File (eHRAF)

eHRAF: World Cultures is a unique database which facilitates research and study of human culture, society and behavior. It enables cross-cultural comparative research on a growing number of cultures. New cultures added each year. It contains more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. The full-text materials are subject-indexed at the paragraph-level for precise retrieval of information on all aspects of cultural and social life.

 

Refworks

RefWorkslogo_main02.gif RefWorks is a personal online database that allows you to store citations to the research materials you find. You can easily organize them and even generate bibliographies and citations in a variety of publication styles.

Quick Tutorials

Sign-in or set up account

Guide to RefWorks @ Lehigh

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip