Online Reference Sources
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference includes dictionaries, including authoritative dictionaries for many languages, encyclopedias, and companions, featuring more in-depth but still brief entries, e.g. Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization.
Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and Africa by ISBN: 9781452266626Publication Date: 2012-01-01Available online
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-century African History by ISBN: 9780203986578Publication Date: 2005-10-24Available online
Materials with an African focus
Encyclopedia of African History and Culture by Call Number: 960.03 P133e v.1-3ISBN: 0816044724Publication Date: 2001-10-01- Historical Dictionary of Civil Wars in Africa byCall Number: 960 A754hISBN: 0810836335Publication Date: 1999-08-28
International Historical Statistics by Call Number: 316 M681i 2007ISBN: 0230005152Publication Date: 2007-12-15
Reference Books
The Blackwell Companion to Globalization by Call Number: EWFM 303.48 B632ISBN: 1405132744Also available as an ebook.
Folklore: an Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art by Call Number: EWFM 398.03 F6661Publication Date: 1997
Handbook of Archaeological Theories by Call Number: Linderman Library 4th Floor 930.101 H236Publication Date: 2007Also available as an ebook.
Background information
- BBC News Country ProfilesThis site will provide a guide to the history, politics and economics of countries and territories. Use it to locate background information on important international institutions and NGO's. You can also find audio and video from the BBC archives.
- CIA World FactbookUpdated on a bi-weekly basis, the CIA Factbook, give a quick snapshot of each nation's demography, economy, government, geography, and other sectors such as transportation, communication, transportation and military.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowAn excellent source for background information and getting started on a topic, CQ Researcher encompasses original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. It offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues.
- U.S. Bilateral Relations FactsheetsUp to date information on U.S. foreign relations with specific nations. Released by the Department of State.
- Council on Foreign Relations BackgroundersThe CFR provides succinct explanations of current political and economic issues. Can be browsed by issue, region and year. The Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher.
- Congressional Research Services Reports from UNTThe Congressional Research service issues reports to Congress on important topics. The Univ. of North Texas makes reports available.
Anthropology Resources Online
- Anthropology Resources on the InternetAmerican Anthropological Association maintains an extensive list of useful anthropology websites and networks of interest.
- PAHMA Delphi Collections BrowserFrom the Phoebe A. Hearst Museum of Anthropology. Delphi is an online browsing and searching system that can be used by researchers, students, and educators to explore diverse museum collections.
