Home
Interlibrary Loan
Use Interlibrary Loan to request a PDF of an article that isn't available at Lehigh or a scanned PDF of a print article that Lehigh owns. You will get an email when the article is ready for download.
Media
- American History in Video This link opens in a new windowMore than video: a collection of newsreels, archives, public affairs footage, and documentaries, both commercial and government sponsored.
- ARTStor This link opens in a new windowDatabase of digital images that may be used for academic purposes only. These collections are interdisciplinary, supporting research and teaching in both the humanities and social sciences.
- Associated Press Image GalleryContains photographs, audio, and graphics from the Associated Press news archives.
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) This link opens in a new windowAggregates collections from a vast span of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available on the web, with contents ranging from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
- Life Photo Archive VIa GoogleSearch millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
ASA - The Library Catalog
Historic News Resources
Newspapers:
- African American Newspapers: 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowAccess to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
- Chronicling America (Newspapers)Library of Congress historic newspaper project.
- New York Times (Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowA full-image archive that includes the entire historical run of The New York Times, since 1851.The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
- Philadelphia Inquirer (Historical Newspaper)Philadelphia-area historical newspaper covering 1860 - 2001
Magazines and periodicals:
- African American Periodicals: 1825-1995 This link opens in a new windowFull text of more than 170 African American Periodicals published between 1825 and 1995.
- Life Magazine archivesLIFE Magazine is the treasured photographic magazine that chronicled the 20th century in the United States. Via Google Books, covers 1936-1972.
- National ReviewNational Review is an editorial magazine focusing on news and commentary pieces on political, social, and cultural affairs. 1955-present.
- The NationThe oldest continuously published weekly magazine in the United States, the Nation is a periodical of political and cultural news, opinion, and analysis.
- The New RepublicThe New Republic is a magazine with commentary on politics and the arts, published since 1914.
Librarian Help
Elizabeth Young-Miller
she/her/hers
Citing Primary Sources
Q: How do I cite primary sources using the Chicago Manual of Style?
A: For newspapers and magazines, cite as you would any other periodical. Check the Purdue OWL site below for information on how to cite other types of primary sources, like interviews, letters, and film.
- Chicago Manual of Style (Purdue OWL)Information on how to format citations and footnotes in Chicago style. Contains a sample of a formatted paper.